1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Newbie here

Discussion in 'New Members' started by DIYReefer, Oct 9, 2014.

1. Oct 9, 2014 at 4:24 PM
    DIYReefer

DIYReefer [OP] Well-Known Member

Member:
    Lebanon Oh
    Vehicle:
    2015 double cab long bed
    Brand new and no mods yet
    Hello all,

As of last week I became a new owner of a 2015 Tacoma Double Cab L/B TRD sport!

This truck has been a long time coming. I spent about six months traveling in New Zealand back in the winter of 93/94 and there were many double cab toyota trucks around. At this time I owned a single cab 4x4 short bed and loved that truck. Also I don't think there were many if any in the US at that time.

The double cabs I had seen were all 85 to 90 models, I loved them and said to myself, I'll buy one of those some day.

Well fast forward 20 years and here it is. ( once I figure out were to share pictures from ill post it )

The only thing that has bothered me is the dealer I went to. I walked in wanting a TRD pro or Off Road. The dealer informed me that the off road model was no longer available and it was the sport or the pro.

The pro was a little more than I wanted to spend on a mid size truck.

After lurking around here for the last few days it looks as if the off road is still available and I was lied too.

Also what's the big difference between the sport and O/R models other than tires and rims as far as I a can tell?

Cheers!

Last edited: Oct 12, 2014
  2. Oct 12, 2014 at 6:14 PM
    DIYReefer

Member:
    Lebanon Oh
    Vehicle:
    2015 double cab long bed