1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

newbie. no taco yet.

Discussion in 'New Members' started by fatman, Feb 17, 2015.

1. Feb 17, 2015 at 9:48 AM
    fatman

fatman [OP] Member

Member:
    Newbie here, I've got a 2003 Ranger and a car as a daily. my plan is to get rid of them both for a 2005+ 4d tacoma later this year, so i signed up to educate myself and hopefully contribute to the community.
    One thing I will need to decide on is 4x4 or not. I'm in the Seattle area so I would very rarely need 4x4, but it sure is nice to have when you need it. Considering the tacoma is expensive, I will probably lean towards a 2wd, if the rear diffs have limited slip. i need to do some research around that.

Last edited: Feb 17, 2015
  2. Feb 17, 2015 at 9:52 AM
    Fonzi25

Fonzi25 Well-Known Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Jaime
    Sparks, NV
    Vehicle:
    2011 Tacoma TRD
    Just get the 4WD man you might not use it often but when you need it you'll be more than happy to have it as a convience

3. Feb 17, 2015 at 10:12 AM
    mjcruiser

mjcruiser Well-Known Member

Member:
    Vehicle:
    09 TRD OR DCSB
    Bilstein 5100's Toytec Springs OME Dakars Raceline R6 Wheels
    I was in the same boat as you less than a year ago. I was at a crossroads between a 2wd or 4wd Fj cruiser/Taco. I bought a 2wd FJ thinking I would rarely use 4wd so why spend the money and I got a good deal on it. 6 months later (last Saturday) I traded it in for a 4wd dcsb v6 tacoma. I was actually looking for another FJ but got a deal on the taco I couldn't refuse so I took it and ran.