1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Fair price for a Tacoma?

Discussion in 'New Members' started by ericindecisive, Aug 14, 2014.

1. Aug 14, 2014 at 2:55 PM
    ericindecisive

ericindecisive [OP] New Member

Member:
    Hey everyone, I am going to a fairly small used car dealer right down the street tomorrow to check out one of these trucks. The dealer has a fairly good reputation around here, if that means anything. I have been driving my 98 civic (first car) for 11 years now, and it's finally time to get something newer.

2008 TRD Sport, 60k miles, 6 speed - Dealer asking $20k

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Is this a fair price for the Tacoma? I could look at book values all day long but that isn't what they always actually sell for. Nothing bothers me more than a depreciating asset, which is why I've had such a hard time buying a vehicle. I am generally a terrible negotiator, haha.

Also, what's the best way to buy? Should I drop most of my house-down payment money and pay cash? Put half down & finance half? My civic is probably worth $500 trade in.. I might be better off selling that independently.. but it's not going to make much of a dent.

I plan on buying a house in about a year, and I think the truck would be useful. I don't see myself beating the hell out of it off-road, but I would like a vehicle capable in our Massachusetts snow (it's really not that bad, though I like driving on those snowy nights). Either way, I'd like a vehicle that can last me another 10 years, and maybe this can be the one!

2. Aug 14, 2014 at 2:59 PM
    gordi

gordi Only had a wheel fall off once

Member:
    First Name:
    Josh