Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Regional Discussion > Regions > Northern California

Notices

need fog light wiring help.....

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-04-2013, 03:31 PM   #1
thebaker [OP] thebaker is offline
Senior Member
thebaker will become famous soon enoughthebaker will become famous soon enough
 
thebaker's Avatar
Name: Byron
Joined: Feb 2009, #13597
Location: NorCal
Gender: Male
Posts: 810
thebaker's Tacoma Gallery
need fog light wiring help.....

Anybody in sf that can help me trouble shoot my wiring problems? Tried to wire up my kragen hid lights and get nothing. Power to the switch works and they turned on the first time I tried them then nothing. Tried a different ground and that didnt help. Im at a loss. Btw im a newbe to wiring so hopefully im not over looking something.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 03:33 PM   #2
Pasti-Dip Free Since 1983
Pugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Pugga's Avatar
Name: Mike
Joined: Jun 2010, #39131
Location: Massachusetts
Gender: Male
Posts: 27,422
Pugga's Tacoma Gallery
Did you blow a fuse? How do you have the lights wired and where are you drawing power from?
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 03:34 PM   #3
thebaker [OP] thebaker is offline
Senior Member
thebaker will become famous soon enoughthebaker will become famous soon enough
 
thebaker's Avatar
Name: Byron
Joined: Feb 2009, #13597
Location: NorCal
Gender: Male
Posts: 810
thebaker's Tacoma Gallery
Im running the power from a aux fuse block. I will check the fuse
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 03:37 PM   #4
wtf am i reading
Razgriz is one of the sharper tools in the shedRazgriz is one of the sharper tools in the shedRazgriz is one of the sharper tools in the shedRazgriz is one of the sharper tools in the shedRazgriz is one of the sharper tools in the shedRazgriz is one of the sharper tools in the shedRazgriz is one of the sharper tools in the shedRazgriz is one of the sharper tools in the shedRazgriz is one of the sharper tools in the shedRazgriz is one of the sharper tools in the shedRazgriz is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Razgriz's Avatar
Name: Matt
Joined: Sep 2012, #86548
Location: Saratoga, CA
Gender: Male
Posts: 958
Razgriz's Tacoma Gallery
wire directly to battery as a test.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 03:40 PM   #5
thebaker [OP] thebaker is offline
Senior Member
thebaker will become famous soon enoughthebaker will become famous soon enough
 
thebaker's Avatar
Name: Byron
Joined: Feb 2009, #13597
Location: NorCal
Gender: Male
Posts: 810
thebaker's Tacoma Gallery
http://www.tacomaworld.com/forum/lig...rich91710.html

I used post #12 as a guide and im wiring to a scion fog switch
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 03:58 PM   #6
thebaker [OP] thebaker is offline
Senior Member
thebaker will become famous soon enoughthebaker will become famous soon enough
 
thebaker's Avatar
Name: Byron
Joined: Feb 2009, #13597
Location: NorCal
Gender: Male
Posts: 810
thebaker's Tacoma Gallery
Is there a way to check to see if the hid lights are the problem? Can I hard wire them straight to the battery and just ground them to a screw? I just wanna make sure the lights themselves arent the problem because the wiring seems correct.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 06:25 PM   #7
Bah Humshit!
brian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
brian's Avatar
Coast Guard: Work and Fly on the Four Fans of Freedom
Joined: Apr 2009, #16011
Location: Roseville, CA
Gender: Dude
Posts: 7,556
brian's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via AIM to brian
You have two lights, the likeliness of both of them being bad... not so much, although ballasts are finicky. I'd triple check your grounds, do the ballasts have a discreet ground or could they be grounded using the screws that hold them down? Are you using relays? Double check make sure they are wired accordingly.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 07:16 PM   #8
Senior Member
kalieaire is one of the sharper tools in the shedkalieaire is one of the sharper tools in the shedkalieaire is one of the sharper tools in the shedkalieaire is one of the sharper tools in the shedkalieaire is one of the sharper tools in the shedkalieaire is one of the sharper tools in the shedkalieaire is one of the sharper tools in the shedkalieaire is one of the sharper tools in the shedkalieaire is one of the sharper tools in the shedkalieaire is one of the sharper tools in the shedkalieaire is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Name: Stanley
Joined: Jun 2012, #81653
Location: Northern California
Gender: Dude
Posts: 775
kalieaire's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by brian View Post
Double check make sure they are wired accordingly.
^^^^^
This.


I always draw a wiring diagram to know exactly what goes to what before I make things happen, then I test the wiring before installation.

Having a multimeter proves as a sanity check in case any problems arise. If I feel fancy, I even write up my own troubleshooting guide and list all the troubleshoot procedures I've made. It's time intensive, but a lot easier than feeling like an idiot for not dotting all of my i's and crossing all of my t's.

For me, the only issues I ever get are any of the following:

1) Ballast
2) Ballast
3) Ballast
4) Loose crimp connector that I hadn't soldered yet and ended up pulling apart
5) Ballast

I've never blown a fuse on my HID Installs, but it happens sometimes depending on the kit that I've seen on my friends' setups.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 07:47 PM   #9
Senior Member
CaliAsh is one of the sharper tools in the shedCaliAsh is one of the sharper tools in the shedCaliAsh is one of the sharper tools in the shedCaliAsh is one of the sharper tools in the shedCaliAsh is one of the sharper tools in the shedCaliAsh is one of the sharper tools in the shedCaliAsh is one of the sharper tools in the shedCaliAsh is one of the sharper tools in the shedCaliAsh is one of the sharper tools in the shedCaliAsh is one of the sharper tools in the shedCaliAsh is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
CaliAsh's Avatar
Army: Retired
Name: Jesse
Joined: May 2012, #78984
Location: Left Coast
Gender: Male
Posts: 664
CaliAsh's Tacoma Gallery
Going off really basic knowledge here so the professionals can chime in anytime and correct

It's still kind of hard to help with what you have posted. Electrical stuff can really suck to diagnose. Just make sure you pick a electrical current path from one end to the other (lights to switch, or switch to lights, etc).

Which type of scion switch did you use? I have seen two popular ones with one being a 3 pin with a single illuminated fog light symbol on it that lights when you activate the switch and another 5 pin (two front symbols with the fog lamp symbol illuminated along with the rest of the dash lights and a bar or bubble illuminated when you activate the switch). Do any switch lights work?

If you are using the 5 pin Scion switch with two front indicators, it looks like the switch wiring is different from the OTRATTW switch show in the diagram you used as a guide as the dash light and indicator light are opposite (fog symbol on bottom with activation bar on top on the scion switch and fog on top, activation bar on the bottom on the ORTATTW switch used in the diagram).

Does it work when headlights are set to low beam (or have you done the fog anytime mod)?
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 09:18 PM   #10
thebaker [OP] thebaker is offline
Senior Member
thebaker will become famous soon enoughthebaker will become famous soon enough
 
thebaker's Avatar
Name: Byron
Joined: Feb 2009, #13597
Location: NorCal
Gender: Male
Posts: 810
thebaker's Tacoma Gallery
first off, thanks everyone that has chimed in to help.

I am using a relay. For the grounds on the lights, I soldered the grounds together into a single wire and ground that at two different locations.

I'm running the scion switch that has 3pin connectors and single illumination. The switch lights up correctly when I flip it on.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 09:19 PM   #11
thebaker [OP] thebaker is offline
Senior Member
thebaker will become famous soon enoughthebaker will become famous soon enough
 
thebaker's Avatar
Name: Byron
Joined: Feb 2009, #13597
Location: NorCal
Gender: Male
Posts: 810
thebaker's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by CaliAsh View Post
Going off really basic knowledge here so the professionals can chime in anytime and correct

It's still kind of hard to help with what you have posted. Electrical stuff can really suck to diagnose. Just make sure you pick a electrical current path from one end to the other (lights to switch, or switch to lights, etc).

Which type of scion switch did you use? I have seen two popular ones with one being a 3 pin with a single illuminated fog light symbol on it that lights when you activate the switch and another 5 pin (two front symbols with the fog lamp symbol illuminated along with the rest of the dash lights and a bar or bubble illuminated when you activate the switch). Do any switch lights work?

If you are using the 5 pin Scion switch with two front indicators, it looks like the switch wiring is different from the OTRATTW switch show in the diagram you used as a guide as the dash light and indicator light are opposite (fog symbol on bottom with activation bar on top on the scion switch and fog on top, activation bar on the bottom on the ORTATTW switch used in the diagram).

Does it work when headlights are set to low beam (or have you done the fog anytime mod)?
Just reread your post for like the 5th time....I have the anytime fog light mod done!!!!! does this change anything!?!?!?!?
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 09:28 PM   #12
BallzDeep is how I go
916TacoTruck has a brilliant future916TacoTruck has a brilliant future916TacoTruck has a brilliant future916TacoTruck has a brilliant future916TacoTruck has a brilliant future916TacoTruck has a brilliant future916TacoTruck has a brilliant future916TacoTruck has a brilliant future916TacoTruck has a brilliant future916TacoTruck has a brilliant future916TacoTruck has a brilliant future
 
916TacoTruck's Avatar
Name: Mike
Joined: Jul 2013, #108916
Location: Sactown
Gender: Dude
Posts: 130
916TacoTruck's Tacoma Gallery
Would you be able to draw a diagram of how you have things wired and post it? This may help in finding what might be wrong
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 11:18 PM   #13
Bah Humshit!
brian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
brian's Avatar
Coast Guard: Work and Fly on the Four Fans of Freedom
Joined: Apr 2009, #16011
Location: Roseville, CA
Gender: Dude
Posts: 7,556
brian's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via AIM to brian
Quote:
Originally Posted by thebaker View Post
Just reread your post for like the 5th time....I have the anytime fog light mod done!!!!! does this change anything!?!?!?!?
Shouldn't. Anytime foglight mod basically just defeats a relay so its always on.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 11:40 PM   #14
thebaker [OP] thebaker is offline
Senior Member
thebaker will become famous soon enoughthebaker will become famous soon enough
 
thebaker's Avatar
Name: Byron
Joined: Feb 2009, #13597
Location: NorCal
Gender: Male
Posts: 810
thebaker's Tacoma Gallery
Ugghhhh....so fustrated with the hid fog light install im done with it for now until I can get someone to help me. On the bright side I'm now trying to install retrofits and wire them up. Lets hope I dont go 0 for 2 today!!!!
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 12:34 AM   #15
Senior Member
kalieaire is one of the sharper tools in the shedkalieaire is one of the sharper tools in the shedkalieaire is one of the sharper tools in the shedkalieaire is one of the sharper tools in the shedkalieaire is one of the sharper tools in the shedkalieaire is one of the sharper tools in the shedkalieaire is one of the sharper tools in the shedkalieaire is one of the sharper tools in the shedkalieaire is one of the sharper tools in the shedkalieaire is one of the sharper tools in the shedkalieaire is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Name: Stanley
Joined: Jun 2012, #81653
Location: Northern California
Gender: Dude
Posts: 775
kalieaire's Tacoma Gallery
have you tried not using the switch? meaning connecting it directly?

if you installed it right, you should be able to easily disconnect the wiring from the switch and use a jumper or a known good switch to turn on the fog lights.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 12:40 AM   #16
thebaker [OP] thebaker is offline
Senior Member
thebaker will become famous soon enoughthebaker will become famous soon enough
 
thebaker's Avatar
Name: Byron
Joined: Feb 2009, #13597
Location: NorCal
Gender: Male
Posts: 810
thebaker's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by kalieaire View Post
have you tried not using the switch? meaning connecting it directly?

if you installed it right, you should be able to easily disconnect the wiring from the switch and use a jumper or a known good switch to turn on the fog lights.
I haven't tried that yet...I will in the morning...on a good note...the retrofit is up and working!!!!!
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 03:16 PM   #18
thebaker [OP] thebaker is offline
Senior Member
thebaker will become famous soon enoughthebaker will become famous soon enough
 
thebaker's Avatar
Name: Byron
Joined: Feb 2009, #13597
Location: NorCal
Gender: Male
Posts: 810
thebaker's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by brian View Post
If you make it to sac this weekend, hit me up, I can do it.
Brian, are you ever off Wednesdays or Thursdays? Those are the days i'm usually up in sac. I want to get my lights wired up before the snow season!!!!
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2013, 09:45 PM   #19
thebaker [OP] thebaker is offline
Senior Member
thebaker will become famous soon enoughthebaker will become famous soon enough
 
thebaker's Avatar
Name: Byron
Joined: Feb 2009, #13597
Location: NorCal
Gender: Male
Posts: 810
thebaker's Tacoma Gallery
So I never got my lights wired up to work. I've been crazy at work these past couple months.


Does anyone in the SF/Bay Area have time in the near future to help me trouble shoot this and wire up this lights? I live in San Francisco but would definitely come out your way to get this done!!!!
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2013, 11:20 AM   #20
Senior Member
jqueener is a glorious beacon of lightjqueener is a glorious beacon of lightjqueener is a glorious beacon of lightjqueener is a glorious beacon of lightjqueener is a glorious beacon of lightjqueener is a glorious beacon of light
 
jqueener's Avatar
Name: Jason
Joined: May 2013, #103540
Location: Sacramento, CA
Gender: Male
Posts: 866
jqueener's Tacoma Gallery
If you have a meter and you should if your doing your own wiring. You can get a decent meter for under $50 at home depot.start at the switch do you have voltage there in and out to relay. Check relay you should have 12 volts there from switch when its on. If so switch is good! Check relay you should have the lights on a normly open contact means open when switch is off. You can check this with continuity setting on meter. Take one lead on the contact that goes to the light and the other on the contact that supplies power to the light with the power side disconnected.you should have no continuity when switch is off and you should have continuity when the switch is on(most meters make a sound when you have continuity).if this happens then relay is good.re connect your power for the lights to those contacts. If not ether relay is bad your you have it wired wrong..if relays good check lights. Disconnect lights and check if you have voltage at the plug when switch is on.if no voltage is there then there must be an open ground or bad ballast. The problems going to be between the relay and lamp.if there is power then lamp is bad. Remember when testing power use dc setting on meter and check from + to - (ground) if you have voltage but not to your ground then your ground is bad check for bad connections. The most common mistake i see with rookies doing wiring is the relay is no wired right.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: FJ Fog light switch and fog light wiring kit Priddle 2nd Gen Tacoma Marketplace 7 05-20-2013 07:45 AM
OEM fog light wiring to aftermarket light assembly appstate 2nd Gen. Tacomas 8 04-10-2013 06:50 AM
Wiring lights to exsisting fog light wiring help bluetaco80 Lighting 20 09-20-2012 03:24 AM
Fog light wiring? drewsky 2nd Gen. Tacomas 6 11-12-2011 05:25 PM
OEM fog light wiring to aftermarket light assembly appstate Lighting 1 04-12-2011 05:07 PM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.