1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Tire and offroading advice

Discussion in 'Off-Roading & Trails' started by gmh16, Mar 7, 2011.

1. Mar 7, 2011 at 10:23 PM
    gmh16

gmh16 [OP] Active Member

Member:
    Hi all,

I am new to the world of 4x4's and I have a question about offroading. I have a 2011 4cyl access cab 4x4 with the stock dunlops. I am about to start a season of field research in northwestern California. We get a lot of rain almost all of the time. The forest roads that I will be on will most likely be mildly to very muddy and my truck will be loaded with traps and gear. I will not be doing any serious offroading other than this. My question is will the stock dunlops be fine for the trails? I am a poor college student and I don't have a job at the moment because of the research that I have to do. I don't really have the $800-1000 to replace the tires with some A/T's. Just asking for some advice on this subject.

Thanks!!!!!

2. Mar 7, 2011 at 10:27 PM
    CopDoctor

CopDoctor Well-Known Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Matt
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Vehicle:
    08 335i
    BMS Intake, JB4 chip, Plastidip everywhere
    stock dunlops will get you there, but if it's very muddy like you say, there's a good chance you'll get stuck a few times. i'd look around on craigslist, you can get used A/T and M/T tires for much cheaper than new

3. Mar 7, 2011 at 10:28 PM
    Yoytoda

Yoytoda The Little Truck That Could

Member:
    First Name:
    Roland
    Big Bear,CA / Upstate NY(Saratoga)
    Vehicle:
    2010 Tacoma Regular Cab 4x4
    completely stock
    stock tires are bad in mud...