Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Discussion > Off-Roading & Trails

Notices

Homemade skid plates?

Old 02-10-2013, 08:49 PM   #1
Interweb wheeler
NC15TRD is one of the sharper tools in the shedNC15TRD is one of the sharper tools in the shedNC15TRD is one of the sharper tools in the shedNC15TRD is one of the sharper tools in the shedNC15TRD is one of the sharper tools in the shedNC15TRD is one of the sharper tools in the shedNC15TRD is one of the sharper tools in the shedNC15TRD is one of the sharper tools in the shedNC15TRD is one of the sharper tools in the shedNC15TRD is one of the sharper tools in the shedNC15TRD is one of the sharper tools in the shed

Name: Nick
NC15TRD's Tacoma Gallery
Homemade skid plates?

I've started thinking about making (designing mostly; I have a drafting degree) my own skids for my truck. I have a couple shops I'd talk to about making them. Namely the IFS, trans, transfer case, and gas tank ones. I'd more than likely buy the rear diff diaper and LCA ones depending on how well making the others goes.

So onto what I'd like to know:
1. Has anyone made their own before? IIRC pAP made a trans skid
2. What material? 1/4" steel seems the most common from my searching
3. Where would/should I bolt them to the truck? And what size hardware should be used?

Thanks for any input you may have
Old 02-10-2013, 08:54 PM   #2
I've done... questionable things.
OZ-T is one of the sharper tools in the shedOZ-T is one of the sharper tools in the shedOZ-T is one of the sharper tools in the shedOZ-T is one of the sharper tools in the shedOZ-T is one of the sharper tools in the shedOZ-T is one of the sharper tools in the shedOZ-T is one of the sharper tools in the shedOZ-T is one of the sharper tools in the shedOZ-T is one of the sharper tools in the shedOZ-T is one of the sharper tools in the shedOZ-T is one of the sharper tools in the shed

Name: Peter North
OZ-T's Tacoma Gallery