1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Dirt roads for n00b in San Diego

Discussion in 'Off-Roading & Trails' started by kristoria, Nov 9, 2013.

1. Nov 9, 2013 at 10:16 PM
    kristoria

kristoria [OP] New Member

Member:
    Hello.

I am a complete noob. I just moved to San Diego (Jamul) from Canada and just bought my first Tacoma last week. A 2003 4x4, but I have no idea how to drive off road. I think I should begin by getting familiar with driving on dirt roads, and also by getting familiar with driving serpentine mountain roads in a truck.

I have driven proctor valley back and forth a few times and I am looking for other similar roads. I live in Jamul, so I know that there must be many unpaved roads in the vicinity. I am just a bit freaked out to just jump in and try something like the Mother Grundy Truck Trail or the Otay Mountain Truck Trail. Especially since I have idea what to expect. I need really, really stupid easy things to drive, something suitable for someone who has grown up in a metropolitan city. Something not too steep, nice unpaved, easy to maneuver roads that I can build my confidence and skill on.

Cheers!

2. Nov 9, 2013 at 11:12 PM
    SuazoYota

SuazoYota Well-Known Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Spencer
    Southbay SD
    Vehicle:
    11 AC TRDOR 4X4 6SPD
    Not enough