1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Basic Off Road Set Up-???

Discussion in 'Off-Roading & Trails' started by rdwarrior, Jul 1, 2009.

1. Jul 1, 2009 at 3:42 PM
    rdwarrior

rdwarrior [OP] Well-Known Member

Member:
    Dirty, NJ
    pop and lock 5300, awaiting revenge fab sliders, leer topper, custom camping platform for bed
    Hey. I am looking to do some mild/moderate off road trails. I am fairly new to this and am looking for guidance. I would like to keep things fairly close to stock right now in terms of suspension. What are some recommendations for an off road set up?

I am looking for suggestions for the following:

Vehicle Recovery essentials

On board air- Is this essential?

Front Bumper- how much will a stock bumper hold me back?
    Any suggestions for replacement bumper?

Thanks.

2. Jul 1, 2009 at 3:45 PM
    DanGer

DanGer Avatar approved by 98tacomav6

Member:
    Northern Virginia & Blacksburg
    Vehicle:
    07 Base 4Cyl 4x4 Manual
    White Head Light mod, White shorty antennae, Doug Thorley Long Tube headers, AFE Drop in air filter, Secondary Air Filter Removed,
    The front bumper will not necessarily hold you back, but there are benefits to aftermarket bumpers. You can easily add a winch to them and what not. It isn't a cheap mod either.

For recover, check out this stickied thread:

http://www.tacomaworld.com/forum/off-roading-trails/15254-off-road-tips-gear-list.html

and scroll down to "The Basic, Minimal Off-Road Checklist"

3. Jul 1, 2009 at 4:41 PM
    Chickenmunga

Chickenmunga Nuggety

Member:
    First Name:
    Mike
    Keizer, Oregon
    Vehicle: