1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

"Ironman" brand recovery kit?

Discussion in 'Off-Roading & Trails' started by sleepdr, Feb 26, 2010.

1. Feb 26, 2010 at 4:00 PM
    sleepdr

sleepdr [OP] Active Member

Member:
    ID
    Vehicle:
    09 DC TRD OR, Black Sand Pearl
    Hi all,

I'm quite new to off-roading, unless you consider taking my grandmother's Oldsmobile sedan on a rocky Jeep trail years ago that was bad enough to tear a Suburban's running boards. :eek: What can I say? It was a great little hidden shooting range.

Anyway, I figure the first thing to do is get proper gear for recovery before hooking up with a beginner-friendly group.

My first gear priorities are:
    Snatch strap, shackles, and recovery hitch. Conveniently, there is an Aussie-made Ironman kit now available in the US. It's available on eBay, or through the Camel 4x4 store.
    http://store.camel4x4.com/product/RECOVERY_KIT_OVERVIEW.html

Any thoughts on the $95 kit with respect to the snatch strap and recovery hitch? I'm willing to spend more if the quality is suspect, but like the idea of an all-in-one kit that leaves money in the bank for a Hi Lift & other goodies. The Ironman strap price seems comparable with the budget-priced snatch strap on Expedition Exchange. I're read that the pricey ARB straps are the way to go, but I've also read stories of them failing during sub-maximal test loads.

Thanks in advance!

This site contains affiliate links for which the site may be compensated.
  2. Feb 26, 2010 at 4:09 PM
    barlowrs

barlowrs Well-Known Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Robert
    So Cal
    Vehicle: