Tacoma World Forums

Tacoma World Forums (http://www.tacomaworld.com/forum/)
-   Off-Roading & Trails (http://www.tacomaworld.com/forum/off-roading-trails/)
-   -   Why the hate for Rugged "Fails" (http://www.tacomaworld.com/forum/off-roading-trails/273929-why-hate-rugged-fails.html)

digitaLbraVo 04-18-2013 11:58 PM

Why the hate for Rugged "Fails"

So what's up with all the "rugged fail" hate 'round here. I mean I haven't tried otherwise so I'm not gonna act like I am an authority on the matter, but I do not understand the hate? So far they've handled every bit of offroading I've tossed their way and then some, succumbing only to some very sandy/muddy mixture that I'm fairly sure even mud tires would have had difficulty with.

tl;dr why don't you like the BF Goodrich Rugged Trail tires?

95 taco 04-19-2013 12:01 AM

i have no experience with them, so i don't have a opinion, but from what i've read they wear fairly fast vs a comparable tire, and they don't grip as well as other A/T tires.

digitaLbraVo 04-19-2013 12:12 AM

Interesting. I wonder if anyone can back that up with actual personal experience? Like miles on two sets of tires to compare or any proof of non-placebo performance on the trail.

OZ-T 04-19-2013 12:16 AM

It's because Trail rhymes with Fail making Rugged Fails easy to remember as a catchy phrase to be repeated similar to stealership

digitaLbraVo 04-19-2013 12:22 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by OZ-T (Post 6764753)
It's because Trail rhymes with Fail making Rugged Fails easy to remember as a catchy phrase to be repeated similar to stealership

Well I caught that one for sure I just cannot find where the ground is underneath these claims that the tires are inherently bad.

jbmccul 04-19-2013 12:23 AM

I had a set on my old xterra. They don't clean out at all. The center tread is an all-terrain type tread but the outside doesn't have the cuts necessary to clear out mud.

OZ-T 04-19-2013 12:24 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jbmccul (Post 6764783)