1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

3rd shifters...lend me your ideas!

Discussion in 'Off-Topic Discussion' started by Janster, Sep 12, 2008.

1. Sep 12, 2008 at 8:06 AM
    Janster

Janster [OP] Old & Forgetful

Member:
    First Name:
    Jandy
    Lancaster, PA
    Vehicle:
    2016 GMC Canyon SLT w/ LineX and....
    I rotate shifts every 4 weeks and I absolutely hate 3rd shift. Some months on 3rd are OK, while others are horrible! It takes me a good 2 weeks to get into the 'groove' and even then, I always feel tired.

Whatta you guys do to help you get to sleep and/or stay asleep?

I work in a factory and it's physically involved. It takes me atleast 2-3 hours to *wind down* after my shift (shift ends at 8am). I sleep when I get home so I'm awake at night to spend time with my husband. I can get myself to sleep (sometimes) but rarely stay asleep for a full 7 hours unless I take DRUGS (laugh - Unisome, Excedrin PM, etc). I'll sometimes have a beer to help get to sleep... My room is about as dark as I can get it. Ringers are off. I wear a pair of those goofy eye-mask things to further block out the light. I take meds at night to clear my sinuses so I can breathe better while sleeping.

But I guess I'm looking for some magical miracle cure to get my ass to sleep and get a full night sleep so I don't feel like a zombie when I get to work.
    Even with a full 7-8 hours of sleep, after 6 hours at work ....if I sit down somewhere for longer than 5 minutes, I'd fall asleep!