1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Economy - how has it affected your career/employer?

Discussion in 'Off-Topic Discussion' started by Janster, Sep 27, 2008.

1. Sep 27, 2008 at 3:34 PM
    Janster

Janster [OP] Old & Forgetful

Member:
    First Name:
    Jandy
    Lancaster, PA
    Vehicle:
    2016 GMC Canyon SLT w/ LineX and....
    We're all feeling the pinch just about everywhere..... What or how has the economy affected your career or your employer in terms of production, service, sales or whatever it is that you do?

Since I work in the printing business, we produce lots of magazines & catalogs that get mailed through-out. Our *customers* are feeling losses in subscribers & their reducing page counts in their magazines/catalogs (to save $$).

We rely on the postal system very heavily. Postal rates (bulk) have gone up & up, Postal regulations are getting tighter and tighter, those regulations are being enforced strictly and it's much easier to get hit with fines (big fines).

This is our busy season - yet we're not nearly as busy as we usually are at this time. Our company has gone through a wave of layoffs again. They normally do this once a year anyway. This year...it's happened a few times already. They've started laying off hourly employees (office people) - which is usually very rare. I'm probably in one of the safest jobs to be in that I'm on the production floor and work on the equipment - but nobody is truely safe.

That's what I've been seeing from my small part of the world. There's probably a lot more going on that I'm totally unaware of (and probably don't wanna know).