1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Dog Tips

Discussion in 'Off-Topic Discussion' started by tacovic, Jul 6, 2011.

1. Jul 6, 2011 at 3:25 PM
    tacovic

tacovic [OP] Well-Known Member

Member:
    MN/WI
    Vehicle:
    00 4x4 TRD
    stock for now
    Ill be picking up a male yellow lab in about 5-6 weeks and this will be my first dog. I have noticed that there are alot of dog lovers here so I figured I would toss out some questions I have. I am a college student and my friend and I are moving into a nice apartment in september. It is all wood floors and has a small fenced in "Backyard" that is covered in cement. There is a communal yard about 10 feet from our front door and a park right across the street. Should I teach the pup to piss/poo in the backyard area with something down on the cement like turf or something, or should I teach him to go in the yard? It would be easier for him to go in the backyard area but I do not know what I could put down on the cement. What is the best way to potty train a puppy? Where should the pup sleep at first? And any tips or advise on how to train him? I really want the dog to be very obedient. I will also use him to hunt every once in a while. Also, any general tips you could give to a first time puppy owner?

2. Jul 6, 2011 at 3:26 PM
    Jester243

Jester243 all I wanted was a god dang picture of a hotdog...

Member:
    First Name:
    Dan
    Spokane, WA
    Vehicle:
    2016 Trail Premium 4Runner w/ KDSS
    some of this, a little of that