1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Plasti-Dip Question

Discussion in 'Off-Topic Discussion' started by puckstopper55, Aug 31, 2012.

1. Aug 31, 2012 at 4:17 AM
    puckstopper55

puckstopper55 [OP] Well-Known Member

Member:
    Long Island
    Vehicle:
    '11 Double Cab TRD Sport, Mag Grey
    tailgate anti-theft Map Light LED's Dome Light LED LP LED Halogen Bed Light Extra D-Rings in bed Anytime Fog Lights Tri-Fold tonnau cover Wet Ok's
    Hey guys. I have never used Plasti-Dip before so I wanted to get some feedback from those that have.

Basically I need to rebuild an enclosure around my fuel oil tank because the one that was there is completely rotted. The sides will be finished with vinyl siding to match my house, and I was going to use roofing shingles for the top (lid) however after some calculations it turns out that the lid would be too heavy to lift.

The lid needs to be able to be lifted for inspection and filling purposes so it cannot be a permanently closed type of roof. To save weight I was thinking of using plasti-dip to coat the 4x8 plywood roof section. Do you think this would provide a waterproof type seal that would remain flexible for when the roof is lifted? Do you have any other ideas for the roof to keep it from rotting but light enough to be lifted by the inspector/oil truck driver?

I appreciate the feedback. Thanks

2. Aug 31, 2012 at 4:33 AM
    puckstopper55

Member:
    Long Island
    Vehicle:
    tailgate anti-theft Map Light LED's Dome Light LED LP LED Halogen Bed Light Extra D-Rings in bed Anytime Fog Lights Tri-Fold tonnau cover Wet Ok's