1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Really need some advice on finding work

Discussion in 'Off-Topic Discussion' started by Cabin Fever, Jul 19, 2013.

1. Jul 19, 2013 at 9:21 PM
    Cabin Fever

Cabin Fever [OP] Active Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Brian
    Orange, VA
    I've been out of work since 2007 and living back at home with my mom and brother. I've been putting in applications left and right, but never hear back from any employers. I was a floor tech/buffer for 3 years at my previous job, but no one will touch me due to that six year gap. I worked on and off for my brother-in-law who was a painter at a body shop just taping up vehicles and cleaning up around his work area.

He now works at Maaco so that leaves me up the s**t creek without work and he paid me himself so it never went through the shop. Even though I put that information on my applications, I still never get any call backs. I've put in for literally every low end position you could think of from dishwashers, busboys, janitors, stocking, parking lot attendant (collecting carts), etc.

I've contacted the Virginia Employment Commission, but they just walked me through registering on their site which I had already done and basically told me "good luck". To make matters worse, my mom is moving out next week and I'm gonna have to find a new place to live so things just keep getting better. Any advice would really be appreciated folks.

2. Jul 19, 2013 at 9:24 PM
    PkTaco

PkTaco Well-Known Member

Member:
    First Name:
    David
    Zanesville Ohio