Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Performance and Tuning

Notices

2 battery setup help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-29-2010, 09:52 AM   #1
Senior Member
Sproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud of
Joined: Oct 2010, #45328
Location: Canada
Gender: Male
Posts: 533
Sproulesxrunner's Tacoma Gallery
2 battery setup help

Hey Guys,

I'm new to the Tacoma World forum. I have an 08 xrunner and I was looking at putting in a two battery set up in the truck. I already have another battery and isolator and its for my large amps. Can you guys tell me where others have placed another battery with some pictures preferably? Thanks in advanced.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 06:28 PM   #2
Member
kartracer will become famous soon enough
Joined: Oct 2008, #9728
Location: colorado
Gender: Male
Posts: 47
kartracer's Tacoma Gallery
this is what i did

this is what i did it worked great all i had to do is build the try and hold down
Attached Thumbnails
2 battery setup help-dsc00065.jpg   2 battery setup help-dsc00064.jpg  
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 06:38 PM   #3
Senior Member
Sproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud of
Joined: Oct 2010, #45328
Location: Canada
Gender: Male
Posts: 533
Sproulesxrunner's Tacoma Gallery
I just realized I talked to you on Xr underground haha. Are those the regular sized batteries or are they smaller?
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 06:47 PM   #4
Member
kartracer will become famous soon enough
Joined: Oct 2008, #9728
Location: colorado
Gender: Male
Posts: 47
kartracer's Tacoma Gallery
Just 2 regular yellow tops
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 07:06 PM   #5
Senior Member
Sproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud of
Joined: Oct 2010, #45328
Location: Canada
Gender: Male
Posts: 533
Sproulesxrunner's Tacoma Gallery
Did you have to weld anything or fabricate anything thing else other than the brace on the top?
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 07:16 PM   #6
Member
kartracer will become famous soon enough
Joined: Oct 2008, #9728
Location: colorado
Gender: Male
Posts: 47
kartracer's Tacoma Gallery
I built a tray to hold them that was alot stronger because of the waight and the stock one is plastic and to small
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 07:54 PM   #7
Senior Member
Sproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud of
Joined: Oct 2010, #45328
Location: Canada
Gender: Male
Posts: 533
Sproulesxrunner's Tacoma Gallery
what kind of stereo you running from that 2 yellow top set up?
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 08:07 PM   #8
Member
kartracer will become famous soon enough
Joined: Oct 2008, #9728
Location: colorado
Gender: Male
Posts: 47
kartracer's Tacoma Gallery
http://www.tacomaworld.com/forum/aud...my-system.html this is my 08 hears the link to what I have it's over 2000 whats
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2010, 10:07 AM   #9
Senior Member
Sproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud of
Joined: Oct 2010, #45328
Location: Canada
Gender: Male
Posts: 533
Sproulesxrunner's Tacoma Gallery
Wow. Thats unreal. I only have Alpine head unit, Alpine type R's 110 watt rms X 4, Alpine 450 watt amp, 1 JL 13.5 W7 and a 1000/1 amp. I am guessing your ran 0 gauge wire through the fire wall and to the amp. Did you run into any problems with the install. By the way you did a great job.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2010, 11:18 AM   #10
Member
kartracer will become famous soon enough
Joined: Oct 2008, #9728
Location: colorado
Gender: Male
Posts: 47
kartracer's Tacoma Gallery
yep 1/0 stinger wire it went smooth as can be the only thing that I kinda messed up on the back seats because i wanted them to still lift up with my amp rack there and I cut the gray loop off of the back of them and wish I didn't I will fix it one day and the power wire there was a extra grommet on the passenger side by the abs stuff that I ran it through thanks for the kind comment
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2010, 11:35 AM   #11
Senior Member
Sproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud of
Joined: Oct 2010, #45328
Location: Canada
Gender: Male
Posts: 533
Sproulesxrunner's Tacoma Gallery
You probably have unreal sound quality from your set up. You did a great job on the sound damping also. Did you find it difficult to run the speaker wire through the doors? Did you have to take out the front seats? I have a custom built sub box that fits where your amp rack goes that is 2.375 cubic feet and has a port tuned to 31 Hz. Hopefully I can fit the amps underneath the front seats. Did you get a wiring harness that allows you to use the steering wheel controls? Any words of warning before I start?
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2010, 12:07 PM   #12
Member
kartracer will become famous soon enough
Joined: Oct 2008, #9728
Location: colorado
Gender: Male
Posts: 47
kartracer's Tacoma Gallery
it is a royal pain to get the wires into the doors one trick is spray in the rubber tube with wd40 the 1000/1 will hang out the back if you put it under the seat and on the passenger side there is a bar you will have to take out or flip it up the other way and what i recommend is take the front seats out first thing they will just be in the way the hole time i did get the controller to use the steering wheal controls on my truck i gutted the entire interior to do the install because i put 2 layers of dynamat on the entire truck in the end it dose sound great
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2010, 06:47 PM   #13
Senior Member
Sproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud of
Joined: Oct 2010, #45328
Location: Canada
Gender: Male
Posts: 533
Sproulesxrunner's Tacoma Gallery
Do you have any pics of while you were installing the stereo? The end product looks great but I just want to learn from how you did it thanks.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2010, 09:20 PM   #14
Member
kartracer will become famous soon enough
Joined: Oct 2008, #9728
Location: colorado
Gender: Male
Posts: 47
kartracer's Tacoma Gallery
No almost all of it was done late at night and taking pics was the last thing I was worried about
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
dual battery setup ez_money08 2nd Gen. Tacomas 15 01-07-2014 01:25 PM
HO alternator/Dual Battery/Battery Separator/"Big 3 Upgrade chazjb 1st Gen. Tacomas 13 04-09-2012 05:13 AM
Dual Battery setup Kmacafee Technical Chat 4 04-03-2012 05:39 AM
Lawnmower battery as a second battery? Rhino Technical Chat 0 11-22-2011 10:35 PM
Dual battery setup, Help Arcanite09 Audio & Video 14 09-11-2009 04:21 PM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.