Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Performance and Tuning

Notices

HP gain by adding performance muffler:

Old 08-15-2008, 02:33 PM   #1
blklab1911 is on a distinguished road
Name: Harry
blklab1911's Tacoma Gallery
Smile HP gain by adding performance muffler:

I love dual exhaust, had it on my Silverado 5.3 and it sounded great but I have no idea if there was a performance gain. I'm new to the Taco world and have no regrets buying an 08 off-road TRD Taco. I flat out love it.. I would like to know if I went with the TRD Cat back would I gain any HP or as I've read going with a flomaster 40 muffler would give me the same result without the expense. Also, don't want to do anything to decrease my standing HP. I appologize for the rambling.. Thanks
Old 08-15-2008, 05:15 PM   #2
TacoTycoon is a splendid one to beholdTacoTycoon is a splendid one to beholdTacoTycoon is a splendid one to beholdTacoTycoon is a splendid one to beholdTacoTycoon is a splendid one to beholdTacoTycoon is a splendid one to beholdTacoTycoon is a splendid one to behold

Name: Justin
TacoTycoon's Tacoma Gallery
Well I have the flowmaster and I think it has the best sound out of all the mufflers, however I have heard from several members here that as far as performance goes, flowmaster may actually reduce your HP slightly because it is a baffled muffler versus a free flowing exhaust such as magnaflow.

Hope this helps bud
Old 08-15-2008, 05:36 PM   #3
Thanks Bud, any experience with the Toyota cat-back exhaust. They claim increase in hp/tq but could be factory talk. I'd love to get dual exhaust but need some suggestions on that one as well.

Harry
Old 08-16-2008, 02:32 PM   #4
TacoTycoon is a splendid one to beholdTacoTycoon is a splendid one to beholdTacoTycoon is a splendid one to beholdTacoTycoon is a splendid one to beholdTacoTycoon is a splendid one to beholdTacoTycoon is a splendid one to beholdTacoTycoon is a splendid one to behold

Name: Justin
TacoTycoon's Tacoma Gallery