Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Performance and Tuning

Notices

check engine

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-02-2007, 12:01 AM   #1
01BAMF [OP] 01BAMF is offline
Junior Member
01BAMF is on a distinguished road
Joined: Apr 2007, #1391
Location: San Diego, Ca
Age: 35
Posts: 4
01BAMF's Tacoma Gallery
check engine

Put in a new Afe cool air intake. Since I installed it my check engine light has been on. Why? I did everything right and followed installation guidelines to a tee. Any advise?
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2007, 04:58 AM   #2
Carolina Alliance Costal Div
2003greenbean has much to be proud of2003greenbean has much to be proud of2003greenbean has much to be proud of2003greenbean has much to be proud of2003greenbean has much to be proud of2003greenbean has much to be proud of2003greenbean has much to be proud of2003greenbean has much to be proud of2003greenbean has much to be proud of
 
2003greenbean's Avatar
Joined: Jan 2007, #672
Location: socaste,sc
Age: 32
Posts: 914
2003greenbean's Tacoma Gallery
what year tacoma
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2007, 11:17 PM   #3
01BAMF [OP] 01BAMF is offline
Junior Member
01BAMF is on a distinguished road
Joined: Apr 2007, #1391
Location: San Diego, Ca
Age: 35
Posts: 4
01BAMF's Tacoma Gallery
07 Tacoma

Its an 07 tacoma dbl cab 4x4 just wondered if anyone had any ideas before I take it to the dealership?
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2007, 04:55 AM   #4
Carolina Alliance Costal Div
2003greenbean has much to be proud of2003greenbean has much to be proud of2003greenbean has much to be proud of2003greenbean has much to be proud of2003greenbean has much to be proud of2003greenbean has much to be proud of2003greenbean has much to be proud of2003greenbean has much to be proud of2003greenbean has much to be proud of
 
2003greenbean's Avatar
Joined: Jan 2007, #672
Location: socaste,sc
Age: 32
Posts: 914
2003greenbean's Tacoma Gallery
the dealership might have a prob with the intake did it void your warr
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2007, 07:48 AM   #5
Senior Member
SPOWERS07 is on a distinguished road
 
SPOWERS07's Avatar
Joined: Jan 2007, #816
Location: Massachusetts
Age: 29
Gender: Guy
Posts: 104
SPOWERS07's Tacoma Gallery
make sure your maf (mass air flow) sensor is connected and if air is leaking around the intake gaskets, if your engine is taking in more air than your maf sensor is saying it is then that would set off your check engine light
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2007, 11:38 AM   #6
Member
Steve762us is on a distinguished road
Joined: Mar 2007, #1144
Posts: 60
Steve762us's Tacoma Gallery
If he left the MAF unplugged, that alone should throw a CEL.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2007, 11:41 AM   #7
Senior Member
SPOWERS07 is on a distinguished road
 
SPOWERS07's Avatar
Joined: Jan 2007, #816
Location: Massachusetts
Age: 29
Gender: Guy
Posts: 104
SPOWERS07's Tacoma Gallery
sometimes not right away it may take a little while
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2007, 07:48 AM   #8
Member
Steve762us is on a distinguished road
Joined: Mar 2007, #1144
Posts: 60
Steve762us's Tacoma Gallery
A little while, like 5 seconds :-P

Bamf, you can take it to Autozone/Discount and have the codes read for free. Otherwise, the usual warnings apply: double check the instructions and your installation.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2007, 08:09 AM   #9
Senior Member
SPOWERS07 is on a distinguished road
 
SPOWERS07's Avatar
Joined: Jan 2007, #816
Location: Massachusetts
Age: 29
Gender: Guy
Posts: 104
SPOWERS07's Tacoma Gallery
no i forgot to plug in a customers maf sensor and the light dident come on till a week later
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2007, 09:45 AM   #10
Senior Member
TRDeity is on a distinguished road
 
TRDeity's Avatar
Joined: Jan 2007, #774
Location: ATX
Posts: 465
TRDeity's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve762us View Post
A little while, like 5 seconds :-P

Bamf, you can take it to Autozone/Discount and have the codes read for free. Otherwise, the usual warnings apply: double check the instructions and your installation.
I wouldn't bother with that, they use really cheap readers and they rarely come up with the correct diagnosis. They usually say it's an O2 sensor or you have a leak in your exhaust.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2007, 12:14 PM   #11
Senior Member
twoarezee is one of the sharper tools in the shedtwoarezee is one of the sharper tools in the shedtwoarezee is one of the sharper tools in the shedtwoarezee is one of the sharper tools in the shedtwoarezee is one of the sharper tools in the shedtwoarezee is one of the sharper tools in the shedtwoarezee is one of the sharper tools in the shedtwoarezee is one of the sharper tools in the shedtwoarezee is one of the sharper tools in the shedtwoarezee is one of the sharper tools in the shedtwoarezee is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
twoarezee's Avatar
Joined: Sep 2006, #20
Location: esco, ca
Age: 29
Posts: 281
twoarezee's Tacoma Gallery
whenever i use the ones at autozone they give me the correct codes for my probs. i dont see how they can tell you the wrong codes because it just reads the codes the are stored in the ecu.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2007, 01:07 PM   #12
Senior Member
TRDeity is on a distinguished road
 
TRDeity's Avatar
Joined: Jan 2007, #774
Location: ATX
Posts: 465
TRDeity's Tacoma Gallery
I've gone to them three times and each time they have been wrong. Twice they told me it was an O2 sensor that was bad and it turned out to be something with my mass air and then with idle air bypass. The third time they told me it was an exhaust leak which was close but wrong, my evac. canister had been knocked off somehow. I talked to friend of mine who owns a shop and he said something about the read only generic codes or something like that, and in order to get an accurate read you need one of the instruments a shop would have.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2007, 02:00 PM   #13
Member
Steve762us is on a distinguished road
Joined: Mar 2007, #1144
Posts: 60
Steve762us's Tacoma Gallery
Just get the codes, and look em up yourself ;-)
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2007, 07:08 AM   #14
Senior Member
TRDeity is on a distinguished road
 
TRDeity's Avatar
Joined: Jan 2007, #774
Location: ATX
Posts: 465
TRDeity's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve762us View Post
Just get the codes, and look em up yourself ;-)
It's the code readers that are flawed not the people reading them. In order to get an accurate diagnosis you need more than just codes off the ECU usually.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2007, 07:32 AM   #15
Member
Steve762us is on a distinguished road
Joined: Mar 2007, #1144
Posts: 60
Steve762us's Tacoma Gallery
You're kinda-sorta there. The codes are generated by the ECU and read by the reader, period. Their usually not pinpoint-specific, and that sounds like your experiences---the code interpretations given by the Autozone guys (or whoever) are probably "best guesses", and that's to be expected---those guys read codes off all different types of vehicles. You'll generally get a more accurate "guess" from a community of folks who all deal with the same vehicles...like here in a forum. If you get a bunch of folks together, you can develop a sort of institutional knowledge that "P1059 is your fuel cap is loose" (which I'm making up, just for an example), which will usually be the right "guess" for that vehicle.

I'm still new to Toyotas, and haven't found this in a forum yet...but I'm sure it's here somewhere...with as many Toyotas are sold!!

I suspect this is what your friend was describing as well. All manufacturers use a basic set of "generic" OBD standard codes, but are allowed to expand on the basic set with their own proprietary codes. In that "generic' code set, the same code means the same thing for each auto maker. Once you move into the proprietary codes, the same code could be used by Ford, GM, Toyota, and Subaru, and will likely mean something different in each maker's usage. In the proprietary code range, your likely to get a "best guess" from the parts shop guys...which will probably be "oxygen sensor", most of the time.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2007, 08:00 AM   #16
Senior Member
TRDeity is on a distinguished road
 
TRDeity's Avatar
Joined: Jan 2007, #774
Location: ATX
Posts: 465
TRDeity's Tacoma Gallery
Yes, that's kind of what I was trying to say, and thank you for the well written explanation. But my point was that the instrument a mechanic uses does not only read the codes off the ECU. It will check timing, amps and current, ignition, fuel rates, temperatures, ect... this is how you get an accurate diagnosis.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2007, 11:08 AM   #17
Junior Member
lane338 is on a distinguished road
Joined: Jun 2007, #1902
Posts: 2
lane338's Tacoma Gallery
I have taken my to dealership and they have reset the check engine light three times and even replaced the maf but it the light came back on within ten miles of driving. They do not know how to fix it.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2007, 02:28 PM   #18
Senior Member
Spyder327 is on a distinguished road
 
Spyder327's Avatar
Joined: May 2007, #1677
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Age: 27
Posts: 204
Spyder327's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via AIM to Spyder327
Quote:
Originally Posted by lane338 View Post
I have taken my to dealership and they have reset the check engine light three times and even replaced the maf but it the light came back on within ten miles of driving. They do not know how to fix it.
Get a different brand intake..

http://www.xr-underground.com/forum/...AFE+intake+CEL
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2007, 12:21 AM   #19
Junior Member
numchild is on a distinguished road
Joined: May 2007, #1706
Posts: 9
numchild's Tacoma Gallery
sometimes on the intakes when installed they are over coated with oil, your maf will become coated in oil (happened on my 02) toyota will clean it for $220 or you can take it off and clean the tiny little sensor carefully for about 1/10 of a penny of tissue.... be careful, it is delicate. anybody know of any high heat o2 sensors available for an 06? i installed headers and they do not dissapate heat good enough, the check engine light always pops on!
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2007, 05:13 AM   #20
Senior Member
Spyder327 is on a distinguished road
 
Spyder327's Avatar
Joined: May 2007, #1677
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Age: 27
Posts: 204
Spyder327's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via AIM to Spyder327
Quote:
Originally Posted by numchild View Post
sometimes on the intakes when installed they are over coated with oil, your maf will become coated in oil (happened on my 02) toyota will clean it for $220 or you can take it off and clean the tiny little sensor carefully for about 1/10 of a penny of tissue.... be careful, it is delicate. anybody know of any high heat o2 sensors available for an 06? i installed headers and they do not dissapate heat good enough, the check engine light always pops on!
CEL comes on with what code? what headers do you have?
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Check engine light off after check codes CUtacomaTIGER Technical Chat 3 02-03-2012 04:07 PM
CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ON, NEED SMOG CHECK GUEVO3911 1st Gen. Tacomas 20 01-05-2012 12:47 PM
How to check "Check Engine" light StAndrew 1st Gen. Tacomas 5 07-03-2010 12:44 AM
Check Engine Tman12 1st Gen. Tacomas 22 06-25-2010 06:45 AM
Check Engine goes off and on oguevarra 1st Gen. Tacomas 10 11-30-2009 03:51 PM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.