Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Performance and Tuning

Notices

Spark plug power loss,please help!!!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-07-2012, 12:04 AM   #21
Senior Member
TACOsupremacy is on a distinguished road
 
TACOsupremacy's Avatar
Name: Gaven
Joined: Sep 2011, #63478
Location: Aiea_Hawaii
Gender: Male
Posts: 188
TACOsupremacy's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by boshak View Post
Low idle / rpms... Truck dies. When's the last time you cleaned your MAF and Throttle Body?

Are you sure the plug wires are connected in the right order?
Im pretty sure it in the right order..did do it one by one..and i cleaned my maf sensor about a week before doing the plugs
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 12:06 AM   #22
Senior Member
TACOsupremacy is on a distinguished road
 
TACOsupremacy's Avatar
Name: Gaven
Joined: Sep 2011, #63478
Location: Aiea_Hawaii
Gender: Male
Posts: 188
TACOsupremacy's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by amaes View Post
Vacuum hose off or loose? I know another member's almost dies under High load for periods of time but we think is his URD MAF Calibrator leaning out the truck and throwing the ecu into a safe mode.
!!? I do have a maf cal..and a urd intake. Ive been having second guesses about removing it..i think it could be that too
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 12:07 AM   #23
Senior Member
TACOsupremacy is on a distinguished road
 
TACOsupremacy's Avatar
Name: Gaven
Joined: Sep 2011, #63478
Location: Aiea_Hawaii
Gender: Male
Posts: 188
TACOsupremacy's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by spark4 View Post
When I changed the plugs on my gf's solara it wouldn't keep an idle right after. I had to literally drive with two feet to the dealership. One on the brakes and the other on the gas so I could keep idling at a red light. Made it to the dealership and the service guy asked me if I just changed my plugs. Which I did. He said to disconnect battery for a bit and then keep driving around. Something about the car computer needing to re adjust itself. It worked. Needed to drive around for a couple miles after and it's all good now. Just my thoughts
Thanks i will try that first!!!!
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 12:13 AM   #24
Cuz Stock Sucks
amaes is one of the sharper tools in the shedamaes is one of the sharper tools in the shedamaes is one of the sharper tools in the shedamaes is one of the sharper tools in the shedamaes is one of the sharper tools in the shedamaes is one of the sharper tools in the shedamaes is one of the sharper tools in the shedamaes is one of the sharper tools in the shedamaes is one of the sharper tools in the shedamaes is one of the sharper tools in the shedamaes is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
amaes's Avatar
Name: Alex
Joined: May 2009, #17658
Location: Chandler, AZ
Age: 24
Gender: Guy
Posts: 7,520
amaes's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by TACOsupremacy View Post
!!? I do have a maf cal..and a urd intake. Ive been having second guesses about removing it..i think it could be that too
I would try that. I have been in the truck with him before when it happens. Its only one the freeway when his truck does it but on the street its fine. It goes into like a safe mode and kills all power from the motor and we had to stop turn it off for a few and then it would be fine for a little while. It got wose the higher in elevation we went and through the hills when it was under high RPM.

With your case it sounds more like a vacuum hose is off. That normally the issue when this happens.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 12:29 AM   #25
Senior Member
TACOsupremacy is on a distinguished road
 
TACOsupremacy's Avatar
Name: Gaven
Joined: Sep 2011, #63478
Location: Aiea_Hawaii
Gender: Male
Posts: 188
TACOsupremacy's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by amaes View Post
I would try that. I have been in the truck with him before when it happens. Its only one the freeway when his truck does it but on the street its fine. It goes into like a safe mode and kills all power from the motor and we had to stop turn it off for a few and then it would be fine for a little while. It got wose the higher in elevation we went and through the hills when it was under high RPM.

With your case it sounds more like a vacuum hose is off. That normally the issue when this happens.
Cant be any vacum hoses i checked like 3 times today..but we'll see
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 12:31 AM   #26
Senior Member
Bishop2Queens6 is one of the sharper tools in the shedBishop2Queens6 is one of the sharper tools in the shedBishop2Queens6 is one of the sharper tools in the shedBishop2Queens6 is one of the sharper tools in the shedBishop2Queens6 is one of the sharper tools in the shedBishop2Queens6 is one of the sharper tools in the shedBishop2Queens6 is one of the sharper tools in the shedBishop2Queens6 is one of the sharper tools in the shedBishop2Queens6 is one of the sharper tools in the shedBishop2Queens6 is one of the sharper tools in the shedBishop2Queens6 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Bishop2Queens6's Avatar
Name: Mike
Joined: Jun 2011, #57944
Location: SoCal
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,105
Bishop2Queens6's Tacoma Gallery
There is a super small vacuum hose that's easy to forget that goes behind the air intake assembly. I'm assuming you have an OEM intake so you're gonna have to pull a lot off when you changed the plugs.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 12:33 AM   #27
Senior Member
boshak is a splendid one to beholdboshak is a splendid one to beholdboshak is a splendid one to beholdboshak is a splendid one to beholdboshak is a splendid one to beholdboshak is a splendid one to beholdboshak is a splendid one to behold
 
boshak's Avatar
Name: Tony
Joined: May 2010, #37663
Location: Southern California
Gender: Male
Posts: 514
boshak's Tacoma Gallery
Bet its something small affecting your fuel ratio...

Dirty throttle body... Bad PCV valve.

Good luck OP! Keep us updated.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 12:35 AM   #28
Senior Member
TACOsupremacy is on a distinguished road
 
TACOsupremacy's Avatar
Name: Gaven
Joined: Sep 2011, #63478
Location: Aiea_Hawaii
Gender: Male
Posts: 188
TACOsupremacy's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bishop2Queens6 View Post
There is a super small vacuum hose that's easy to forget that goes behind the air intake assembly. I'm assuming you have an OEM intake so you're gonna have to pull a lot off when you changed the plugs.
No actually i have a URD intake, so theres alot of space to work on that side. Im sure there are no hoses lose or off i double checked and re checked again..
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 12:50 AM   #29
Senior Member
Bishop2Queens6 is one of the sharper tools in the shedBishop2Queens6 is one of the sharper tools in the shedBishop2Queens6 is one of the sharper tools in the shedBishop2Queens6 is one of the sharper tools in the shedBishop2Queens6 is one of the sharper tools in the shedBishop2Queens6 is one of the sharper tools in the shedBishop2Queens6 is one of the sharper tools in the shedBishop2Queens6 is one of the sharper tools in the shedBishop2Queens6 is one of the sharper tools in the shedBishop2Queens6 is one of the sharper tools in the shedBishop2Queens6 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Bishop2Queens6's Avatar
Name: Mike
Joined: Jun 2011, #57944
Location: SoCal
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,105
Bishop2Queens6's Tacoma Gallery
This can be a really dumb/obvious question, but were the correct coil packs and plugs placed into the correct cylinder...? Something so simple may be overlooked.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 12:53 AM   #30
Senior Member
boshak is a splendid one to beholdboshak is a splendid one to beholdboshak is a splendid one to beholdboshak is a splendid one to beholdboshak is a splendid one to beholdboshak is a splendid one to beholdboshak is a splendid one to behold
 
boshak's Avatar
Name: Tony
Joined: May 2010, #37663
Location: Southern California
Gender: Male
Posts: 514
boshak's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bishop2Queens6 View Post
This can be a really dumb/obvious question, but were the correct coil packs and plugs placed into the correct cylinder...? Something so simple may be overlooked.
He said he did one plug at a time so he's pretty certain on the correct order.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 12:54 AM   #31
Senior Member
Bishop2Queens6 is one of the sharper tools in the shedBishop2Queens6 is one of the sharper tools in the shedBishop2Queens6 is one of the sharper tools in the shedBishop2Queens6 is one of the sharper tools in the shedBishop2Queens6 is one of the sharper tools in the shedBishop2Queens6 is one of the sharper tools in the shedBishop2Queens6 is one of the sharper tools in the shedBishop2Queens6 is one of the sharper tools in the shedBishop2Queens6 is one of the sharper tools in the shedBishop2Queens6 is one of the sharper tools in the shedBishop2Queens6 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Bishop2Queens6's Avatar
Name: Mike
Joined: Jun 2011, #57944
Location: SoCal
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,105
Bishop2Queens6's Tacoma Gallery
Maybe check the integrity of the plug itself, not only a loose connection, but a bent and/or dirty tab.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 12:58 AM   #32
Senior Member
boshak is a splendid one to beholdboshak is a splendid one to beholdboshak is a splendid one to beholdboshak is a splendid one to beholdboshak is a splendid one to beholdboshak is a splendid one to beholdboshak is a splendid one to behold
 
boshak's Avatar
Name: Tony
Joined: May 2010, #37663
Location: Southern California
Gender: Male
Posts: 514
boshak's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bishop2Queens6 View Post
Maybe check the integrity of the plug itself, not only a loose connection, but a bent and/or dirty tab.
He swapped plugs twice :P
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 01:23 AM   #33
Senior Member
TACOsupremacy is on a distinguished road
 
TACOsupremacy's Avatar
Name: Gaven
Joined: Sep 2011, #63478
Location: Aiea_Hawaii
Gender: Male
Posts: 188
TACOsupremacy's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bishop2Queens6 View Post
This can be a really dumb/obvious question, but were the correct coil packs and plugs placed into the correct cylinder...? Something so simple may be overlooked.
Plus isnt the length of the coil so short that it can only reach that plug? Well thats what it seemed like anyways, but yeah i did it one at a time and went thru two sets
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 09:55 PM   #34
Senior Member
TACOsupremacy is on a distinguished road
 
TACOsupremacy's Avatar
Name: Gaven
Joined: Sep 2011, #63478
Location: Aiea_Hawaii
Gender: Male
Posts: 188
TACOsupremacy's Tacoma Gallery
Are you supposed to disconnect the battery before you change plugs?
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 11:12 PM   #35
With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine.
chris4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedchris4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedchris4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedchris4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedchris4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedchris4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedchris4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedchris4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedchris4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedchris4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedchris4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
chris4x4's Avatar
Name: FlimFlubberJAM
Joined: May 2008, #6497
Location: Tenoe, AZ
Gender: Male
Posts: 98,900
chris4x4's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by TACOsupremacy View Post
Are you supposed to disconnect the battery before you change plugs?
I never do.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 11:52 PM   #36
Senior Member
boshak is a splendid one to beholdboshak is a splendid one to beholdboshak is a splendid one to beholdboshak is a splendid one to beholdboshak is a splendid one to beholdboshak is a splendid one to beholdboshak is a splendid one to behold
 
boshak's Avatar
Name: Tony
Joined: May 2010, #37663
Location: Southern California
Gender: Male
Posts: 514
boshak's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by TACOsupremacy View Post
Are you supposed to disconnect the battery before you change plugs?
I don't. Did you take it to the shop? What's the verdict?
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 12:02 AM   #37
Senior Member
Muscles is on a distinguished road
 
Muscles's Avatar
Air Force: Load Master
Name: Kyle
Joined: Mar 2011, #53665
Location: San Diego
Age: 25
Gender: Male
Posts: 181
Muscles's Tacoma Gallery
subbed, for when i attempt to change my plugs haha
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 12:03 AM   #38
Senior Member
S.B. is one of the sharper tools in the shedS.B. is one of the sharper tools in the shedS.B. is one of the sharper tools in the shedS.B. is one of the sharper tools in the shedS.B. is one of the sharper tools in the shedS.B. is one of the sharper tools in the shedS.B. is one of the sharper tools in the shedS.B. is one of the sharper tools in the shedS.B. is one of the sharper tools in the shedS.B. is one of the sharper tools in the shedS.B. is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
S.B.'s Avatar
Name: Sean
Joined: Jun 2009, #18838
Location: SD, CA Now in Colorado Springs, CO
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Posts: 3,555
S.B.'s Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by TACOsupremacy View Post
Are you supposed to disconnect the battery before you change plugs?
Probably don't need to, but I live by the rule to disconnect the battery for anything electrical. I know after I mess with the plugs or MAF it dies out on me on the first crank and then the second time starting it runs like crap for like 30seconds. I would try disconnecting your battery for like an hour or so.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 01:24 AM   #39
Senior Member
TACOsupremacy is on a distinguished road
 
TACOsupremacy's Avatar
Name: Gaven
Joined: Sep 2011, #63478
Location: Aiea_Hawaii
Gender: Male
Posts: 188
TACOsupremacy's Tacoma Gallery
Well when i took it the shop i told them everything whats going on. They checked everything, test drove it and it happened to them, all they did was disconnect the battery for a couple minutes then started her up again, then it ran fine after the first 5min. They told me by doung that your jus restting the ecu..i guess?? So hopefully tomorrow everything goes well
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 01:55 AM   #40
Senior Member
06yoda is a jewel in the rough06yoda is a jewel in the rough06yoda is a jewel in the rough06yoda is a jewel in the rough
Navy: Engineman
Name: Tanner
Joined: Jan 2008, #4326
Location: Point Loma, CA/ Emmett, ID
Age: 29
Gender: Male
Posts: 338
06yoda's Tacoma Gallery
I thought one bank was supposed to have ngks and the other denso. I believe they are different length. You prob didn't tighten the plug itself Enough.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Loss of power AFloadtoad 2nd Gen. Tacomas 4 03-10-2011 07:20 AM
Power Loss betardfoosier 1st Gen. Tacomas 10 02-04-2011 07:31 PM
Loss power jimmyzshack Wheels & Tires 3 12-12-2010 05:32 PM
spark plug power difference? johnny230 1st Gen. Tacomas 11 04-02-2010 10:07 AM
Loss of power ? surfsupl 2nd Gen. Tacomas 10 01-21-2009 08:31 PM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.