1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

How long to run a new engine stock before modding??

Discussion in 'Performance and Tuning' started by troy28, Jun 9, 2012.

1. Jun 9, 2012 at 1:58 PM
    troy28

troy28 [OP] Well-Known Member

Member:
    Capitol of Salty Roads
    Need help
    I attempted to use the search but did not seem to find my answer. I am also a noob so there is a good chance of a O.E. problem.

I am getting a new Tacoma and looking to upgrade the intake and exhaust. Should I drive the engine stock for "?" miles before making any changes or am I fine to go ahead and just start modding it?

Thank you for the help!

2. Jun 9, 2012 at 2:02 PM
    Khaos

Khaos Big Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Bryant
    Jacksonville, Florida
    Vehicle:
    2011 DC TRD SPORT Prerunner
    3” spacer lift, 285/75/17 KO2, Spidertrax 1.25” spacers
    What sort of mods?

And I can see no reason why you would want to wait until X amount of mileage to mod to begin with.

3. Jun 9, 2012 at 2:09 PM
    bubbagumps

bubbagumps Well-Known Member

Member:
    I would suggest driving it for a while before you decide what to mod. Not because you can't mod a new engine, you just will get a better idea of what you really want as opposed to what you think you want now without haven even driven the vehicle.

4. Jun 9, 2012 at 2:59 PM
    Rackster

Rackster Well-Known Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Kevin
    Connecticut
    Vehicle:
    '04 E/cab 4x4 2.7 Auto SR5
    If it's New, you probably don't want to do any mod's that would void your warranty. Be sure you do you research or you could get stuck holding the bill!