1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Quiet Muffler Advice

Discussion in 'Performance and Tuning' started by Richard8655, Jul 16, 2012.

1. Jul 16, 2012 at 7:06 PM
    Richard8655

Richard8655 [OP] New Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Richard
    Chicago suburbs
    Vehicle:
    '99 SR5 2.4L 2wd Xtracab
    SR5
    Hi All,
    Newbie here needing advice on muffler replacement on a '99 Tacoma (L4 2wd Xtracab).

I'm not looking for a performance/aggresive sound, but rather as quiet and unnoticeable a sound as possible. The local Toyota dealers want $517 + $177 labor for a genuine Toyota OEM exhaust system (the only way it comes, as one unit from the catalytic converter on back).

I checked 3rd party manufacturers and the only quiet OEM-sounding muffler is a Walker Stainless Steel Quiet Flow for $100, and comes as a unit with tailpipe from the muffler on back (needs to be welded/clamped to the intermediate pipe).

Toyota offers lifetime parts/labor free replacement and comes as a solid, single SS unit bolted onto the cat. The Walker, with installation, would only be about $160. But I don't want to keep replacing Walker mufflers every 2-3 years or fixing loose/rusted weld joints over time.

So any advice on which way to go?

2. Jul 16, 2012 at 7:14 PM
    eight08

eight08 Active Member

Member:
    honolulu
    Vehicle:
    2012 reg. cab 4x4
    take a look at "Turbo Mufflers".. it's a type of muffler, not a brand. the tone may be a little different than stock, but it should be very quiet. turbo mufflers are cheap too!