Notices

Quiet Muffler Advice

Old 07-16-2012, 08:06 PM   #1
Richard8655 is on a distinguished road

Name: Richard
Richard8655's Tacoma Gallery
Quiet Muffler Advice

Hi All,
Newbie here needing advice on muffler replacement on a '99 Tacoma (L4 2wd Xtracab).

I'm not looking for a performance/aggresive sound, but rather as quiet and unnoticeable a sound as possible. The local Toyota dealers want $517 + $177 labor for a genuine Toyota OEM exhaust system (the only way it comes, as one unit from the catalytic converter on back).

I checked 3rd party manufacturers and the only quiet OEM-sounding muffler is a Walker Stainless Steel Quiet Flow for $100, and comes as a unit with tailpipe from the muffler on back (needs to be welded/clamped to the intermediate pipe).

Toyota offers lifetime parts/labor free replacement and comes as a solid, single SS unit bolted onto the cat. The Walker, with installation, would only be about $160. But I don't want to keep replacing Walker mufflers every 2-3 years or fixing loose/rusted weld joints over time.

So any advice on which way to go?
Old 07-16-2012, 08:14 PM   #2
eight08 will become famous soon enough
eight08's Tacoma Gallery
take a look at "Turbo Mufflers".. it's a type of muffler, not a brand. the tone may be a little different than stock, but it should be very quiet. turbo mufflers are cheap too!

take it to any of your local muffler shops and have it welded on. it should flow much better than stock as well.
Old 07-16-2012, 08:17 PM   #3
Rackster is a splendid one to beholdRackster is a splendid one to beholdRackster is a splendid one to beholdRackster is a splendid one to beholdRackster is a splendid one to beholdRackster is a splendid one to beholdRackster is a splendid one to behold
Name: Kevin
Rackster's Tacoma Gallery
Right sound - right tune

Depending how long you plan to keep your vehicle, the OEM exhaust might be the right price. I like the quiet too, so when the time comes, I'll be buying mine at the dealership.