Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Performance and Tuning

Notices

DIY cold air intake pipes?

Old 10-27-2012, 10:32 PM   #1
cglatz is on a distinguished road

cglatz's Tacoma Gallery
DIY cold air intake pipes?

I'm new at this, so forgive me if this is a dumb question.

I've been reading lots about using cold air intakes to improve power and mpgs. I priced out a few of them and am surprised to see how much they cost... isn't it just a tube and some hose clamps with a filter on the end? Unless I'm missing something big (more than likely), couldn't you just buy the filter and then run a pipe or tube to a good spot for the intake?
Old 10-27-2012, 10:43 PM   #2
worthywads is one of the sharper tools in the shedworthywads is one of the sharper tools in the shedworthywads is one of the sharper tools in the shedworthywads is one of the sharper tools in the shedworthywads is one of the sharper tools in the shedworthywads is one of the sharper tools in the shedworthywads is one of the sharper tools in the shedworthywads is one of the sharper tools in the shedworthywads is one of the sharper tools in the shedworthywads is one of the sharper tools in the shedworthywads is one of the sharper tools in the shed

worthywads's Tacoma Gallery
You will not get better mpg.
Old 10-27-2012, 10:43 PM   #3
.45%er
the.sight.picture is one of the sharper tools in the shedthe.sight.picture is one of the sharper tools in the shedthe.sight.picture is one of the sharper tools in the shedthe.sight.picture is one of the sharper tools in the shedthe.sight.picture is one of the sharper tools in the shedthe.sight.picture is one of the sharper tools in the shedthe.sight.picture is one of the sharper tools in the shedthe.sight.picture is one of the sharper tools in the shedthe.sight.picture is one of the sharper tools in the shedthe.sight.picture is one of the sharper tools in the shedthe.sight.picture is one of the sharper tools in the shed