Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Performance and Tuning

Notices

Flashing the ECU

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-14-2007, 05:55 AM   #1
caglezxj [OP] caglezxj is offline
Senior Member
caglezxj is on a distinguished road
Joined: Jul 2007, #2201
Posts: 101
caglezxj's Tacoma Gallery
Flashing the ECU

I talked with a guy last night. Very experienced with the toyota v6 and V8 . He said that I could have the ecu flashed and achieve the same thing or even better than the urd device. He said he could change the fuel/ air mixture and anything else I need. He also said some of the dealerships should be able to do this. If I have him do it, I will have to remove th ECU from the truck, and don't know how hard it is to get to it. Has anyone removed there ecu? This is for a 07 Tacoma
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2007, 07:14 AM   #2
Senior Member
4x4Taco will become famous soon enough4x4Taco will become famous soon enough
 
4x4Taco's Avatar
Joined: Feb 2007, #976
Location: Ontario
Gender: Male
Posts: 153
4x4Taco's Tacoma Gallery
Just remember if you get aggressive with the timing in the V6 or A/F ratio you will need to use 92 or 94 octane always as the motor is 10:1 comp.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2007, 08:06 AM   #3
nd nd is offline
Radical Town. It's a hell of a place!
nd is infamous around these partsnd is infamous around these partsnd is infamous around these partsnd is infamous around these partsnd is infamous around these partsnd is infamous around these partsnd is infamous around these partsnd is infamous around these partsnd is infamous around these partsnd is infamous around these partsnd is infamous around these parts
 
nd's Avatar
Name: Nate
Joined: Mar 2007, #1047
Location: Greenville, SC
Age: 32
Gender: Guy
Posts: 12,740
nd's Tacoma Gallery
yeah, with as high as our compression ration is, i am not planning on messing with my mixtures. If i do, i'm gonna make sure i pay someone who knows what they're doing to do it. I'd be careful if i were you
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2007, 08:43 AM   #4
I dub thee malicious!
007Tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed007Tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed007Tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed007Tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed007Tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed007Tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed007Tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed007Tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed007Tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed007Tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed007Tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
007Tacoma's Avatar
Name: Mark
Joined: Jan 2007, #643
Location: San Antonio, TX
Age: 33
Gender: Guy
Posts: 6,706
007Tacoma's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via AIM to 007Tacoma
Quote:
Originally Posted by caglezxj View Post
I talked with a guy last night. Very experienced with the toyota v6 and V8 . He said that I could have the ecu flashed and achieve the same thing or even better than the urd device. He said he could change the fuel/ air mixture and anything else I need. He also said some of the dealerships should be able to do this. If I have him do it, I will have to remove th ECU from the truck, and don't know how hard it is to get to it. Has anyone removed there ecu? This is for a 07 Tacoma
Reflashing the ECU with what? - A new set of A/F ratios? Where are they getting the ratio table from?
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2007, 06:21 PM   #5
caglezxj [OP] caglezxj is offline
Senior Member
caglezxj is on a distinguished road
Joined: Jul 2007, #2201
Posts: 101
caglezxj's Tacoma Gallery
Well I work for Toyota Motor Manufacturing people, ANd it would be a QC guy that does all the dino test. We build the 4.0 V6 and the 5.7 Tundra Engine. I believe he knows what he is doing.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2007, 06:23 PM   #6
caglezxj [OP] caglezxj is offline
Senior Member
caglezxj is on a distinguished road
Joined: Jul 2007, #2201
Posts: 101
caglezxj's Tacoma Gallery
Once the flash is done then my ecu will be ran on a new 4.0 engine to make sure it is set right, and runs correctly at different RPM's
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2007, 06:24 PM   #7
caglezxj [OP] caglezxj is offline
Senior Member
caglezxj is on a distinguished road
Joined: Jul 2007, #2201
Posts: 101
caglezxj's Tacoma Gallery
However I probably have said to much. And will let everyone know how it works afterwards.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2007, 07:12 PM   #8
Senior Member
Spyder327 is on a distinguished road
 
Spyder327's Avatar
Joined: May 2007, #1677
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Age: 27
Posts: 204
Spyder327's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via AIM to Spyder327
hmmm... good luck with that, sounds pretty odd to me though. As soon as you make changes to intake, exhaust, etc. you'll likely have to keep "reflashing" to achieve correct settings again. Although i dont know how they're accomplishing it in the first place.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2007, 06:32 AM   #9
Senior Member
4x4Taco will become famous soon enough4x4Taco will become famous soon enough
 
4x4Taco's Avatar
Joined: Feb 2007, #976
Location: Ontario
Gender: Male
Posts: 153
4x4Taco's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spyder327 View Post
hmmm... good luck with that, sounds pretty odd to me though. As soon as you make changes to intake, exhaust, etc. you'll likely have to keep "reflashing" to achieve correct settings again. Although i dont know how they're accomplishing it in the first place.

The only way to do it properly would be with the truck (yours) on a chassis dyno using a wideband oxygen sensor and dial the A/F ratio in that way. That is what I had to do for my mustang. And you would be amazed at two identical vehicles on the dyno how much they can differ in A/F ratio and even HP produced. Thatís why the manufactures leave such a large safety margin. (rich fuel mixtures)....Yes there is HP to be had but...you will pay a price if not done right.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2007, 12:31 PM   #10
Senior Member
Spyder327 is on a distinguished road
 
Spyder327's Avatar
Joined: May 2007, #1677
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Age: 27
Posts: 204
Spyder327's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via AIM to Spyder327
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4x4Taco View Post
The only way to do it properly would be with the truck (yours) on a chassis dyno using a wideband oxygen sensor and dial the A/F ratio in that way. That is what I had to do for my mustang. And you would be amazed at two identical vehicles on the dyno how much they can differ in A/F ratio and even HP produced. Thatís why the manufactures leave such a large safety margin. (rich fuel mixtures)....Yes there is HP to be had but...you will pay a price if not done right.
That is very correct. Thus why there is a wideband installed in my truck permanently
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2007, 01:56 PM   #11
Towing Guru
maverick491 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmaverick491 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmaverick491 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmaverick491 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmaverick491 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmaverick491 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmaverick491 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmaverick491 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmaverick491 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmaverick491 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmaverick491 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
maverick491's Avatar
Joined: Apr 2007, #1462
Location: South Jersey
Age: 38
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,077
maverick491's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spyder327 View Post
That is very correct. Thus why there is a wideband installed in my truck permanently
Spyder,

Sorry I need to pick you brain again after your last statement. Would I realistically need to permanantly install the wideband in my truck to prevent damage? Or would a once and done be safe? Assuming of course that the once and done was completed after all the engine and exhaust mods were finished, and provided that I ran the same gas all the time? Last question, (atleast this time) I live and drive primarily, and would tune in South Jersey (near sea level). I would not risk damage to the engine if I drove up to the mountins for the weekend? Correct me if I am wrong, but if I tuned at sea level in winter and drove up to the mountains in summer the thinner, warmer air would just take me back to a running rich scenario?

Thanks again
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2007, 02:33 PM   #12
Senior Member
Spyder327 is on a distinguished road
 
Spyder327's Avatar
Joined: May 2007, #1677
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Age: 27
Posts: 204
Spyder327's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via AIM to Spyder327
Quote:
Originally Posted by maverick491 View Post
Spyder,

Sorry I need to pick you brain again after your last statement. Would I realistically need to permanantly install the wideband in my truck to prevent damage? Or would a once and done be safe? Assuming of course that the once and done was completed after all the engine and exhaust mods were finished, and provided that I ran the same gas all the time? Last question, (atleast this time) I live and drive primarily, and would tune in South Jersey (near sea level). I would not risk damage to the engine if I drove up to the mountins for the weekend? Correct me if I am wrong, but if I tuned at sea level in winter and drove up to the mountains in summer the thinner, warmer air would just take me back to a running rich scenario?

Thanks again
nah you don't have a huge need for a permanent wideband. The reason i have one is because i have URD's Supercharger kit. A good tune should pretty much stay at that same AFR for you and you wont have to worry. Of course, like you said, you'd want to do it after all your mods are completed, because each mod can throw around the AFR a bit.

As far as altitude, what i would recommend you do is tune it at the area your at (obviously). I'd say if you're going to change altitudes big time, you can just put back the stock fuel map and us that for your trip and then just put back on your tuned map when you return.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2007, 05:40 PM   #13
Towing Guru
maverick491 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmaverick491 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmaverick491 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmaverick491 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmaverick491 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmaverick491 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmaverick491 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmaverick491 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmaverick491 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmaverick491 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmaverick491 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
maverick491's Avatar
Joined: Apr 2007, #1462
Location: South Jersey
Age: 38
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,077
maverick491's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spyder327 View Post
nah you don't have a huge need for a permanent wideband. The reason i have one is because i have URD's Supercharger kit. A good tune should pretty much stay at that same AFR for you and you wont have to worry. Of course, like you said, you'd want to do it after all your mods are completed, because each mod can throw around the AFR a bit.

As far as altitude, what i would recommend you do is tune it at the area your at (obviously). I'd say if you're going to change altitudes big time, you can just put back the stock fuel map and us that for your trip and then just put back on your tuned map when you return.
That makes perfect sense. I hadn't even considered just reverting to stock for ski trips and such. It is so simple and makes so much sense I feel stupid now.

Thanks again Spyder. I am sure I will come up with more questions still before I pull the trigger on this completely, but I am tapped out of questions for now. I do owe you a beer or two though should we ever find ourselves in the same location.

Thanks again
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2007, 05:55 PM   #14
Senior Member
Spyder327 is on a distinguished road
 
Spyder327's Avatar
Joined: May 2007, #1677
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Age: 27
Posts: 204
Spyder327's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via AIM to Spyder327
Quote:
Originally Posted by maverick491 View Post
That makes perfect sense. I hadn't even considered just reverting to stock for ski trips and such. It is so simple and makes so much sense I feel stupid now.

Thanks again Spyder. I am sure I will come up with more questions still before I pull the trigger on this completely, but I am tapped out of questions for now. I do owe you a beer or two though should we ever find ourselves in the same location.

Thanks again
Deal!

Just let me know if you have any more questions
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2008, 05:41 AM   #15
Junior Member
Philby is on a distinguished road
Joined: Jul 2008, #8002
Location: Cairns Australia
Gender: Guy
Posts: 12
Philby's Tacoma Gallery
Heh caglezxj, would be interested in yr friends reflashing program as I'm keen to fit the TRD Supercharger but TRD Australia is a closed shop in letting out tech specs.
Phil.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2008, 04:37 PM   #16
Member
NHinAK is on a distinguished road
 
NHinAK's Avatar
Air Force: Crew Chief
Joined: Jul 2008, #7908
Location: Anchorage
Posts: 38
NHinAK's Tacoma Gallery
How much power do you figure your going to "unlock"? Not much I would imagine. Why not just get a TRD CAI and be done with it? Your likely to gain just as much with the CAI as this "reflash".
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2008, 06:34 PM   #17
Senior Member
m3dragon is a glorious beacon of lightm3dragon is a glorious beacon of lightm3dragon is a glorious beacon of lightm3dragon is a glorious beacon of lightm3dragon is a glorious beacon of lightm3dragon is a glorious beacon of light
Joined: Sep 2007, #2799
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 224
m3dragon's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via AIM to m3dragon
Old thread but we need to get enough people on the tacoma threads to have a tuner like powerchips make a ECu flash that tunes the ECU for most peoples cars. They do offer extra tunes for those who run more parts like headers and pullies ECT.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
4wd flashing HELP! cgs2k2 2nd Gen. Tacomas 47 10-22-2011 12:17 PM
Flashing A/C light jerris 2nd Gen. Tacomas 4 06-08-2011 10:37 AM
alarm flashing makeawish911 Audio & Video 5 02-02-2010 07:29 AM
flashing lights johnw 2nd Gen. Tacomas 30 11-11-2009 08:27 AM
A/C light flashing johanneshoogenboom 2nd Gen. Tacomas 3 10-26-2009 12:26 PM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.