Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Performance and Tuning

Notices

CAI

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-22-2013, 12:25 PM   #1
ROMYER8313 [OP] ROMYER8313 is offline
Junior Member
ROMYER8313 is on a distinguished road
Army: 3rd Infantry Division,1st battalion, Bravo company, second platoon
Name: robert
Joined: Nov 2012, #91414
Location: medford oregon
Gender: Male
Posts: 20
ROMYER8313's Tacoma Gallery
CAI

i was wanting to instal either a trd cai or a AFE cai. i was concerned because i was told by toyota that the trd cai was not compatible with my 2008 tacoma and my supercharger. i was looking on line and there were some problems with the cai and the supercharger and the cai would cause a lean code. is there anything that i can do to install the afe or the trd cai without having these cai causing a lean code?
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 12:29 PM   #2
resident Apple Pie Monster
Justus is one of the sharper tools in the shedJustus is one of the sharper tools in the shedJustus is one of the sharper tools in the shedJustus is one of the sharper tools in the shedJustus is one of the sharper tools in the shedJustus is one of the sharper tools in the shedJustus is one of the sharper tools in the shedJustus is one of the sharper tools in the shedJustus is one of the sharper tools in the shedJustus is one of the sharper tools in the shedJustus is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Justus's Avatar
Name: Brock
Joined: Jan 2013, #94417
Location: Paso Robles
Age: 34
Gender: Male
Posts: 5,974
Justus's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by ROMYER8313 View Post
i was wanting to instal either a trd cai or a AFE cai. i was concerned because i was told by toyota that the trd cai was not compatible with my 2008 tacoma and my supercharger. i was looking on line and there were some problems with the cai and the supercharger and the cai would cause a lean code. is there anything that i can do to install the afe or the trd cai without having these cai causing a lean code?
The afe stage 2 Si is compatable with the trd blower.....lots of guys here and on xru run that setup.....the afe stage 2 Si and original style trd intake work well, its just the newer style trd intake was a hack job and k&n didn't do their homework when they designed it.

If in doubt u can call gadget at urdusa.com

He can make a skateboard supersonic if u give him some bubble gum, a no2 pencil and duct tape.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 12:33 PM   #3
resident Apple Pie Monster
Justus is one of the sharper tools in the shedJustus is one of the sharper tools in the shedJustus is one of the sharper tools in the shedJustus is one of the sharper tools in the shedJustus is one of the sharper tools in the shedJustus is one of the sharper tools in the shedJustus is one of the sharper tools in the shedJustus is one of the sharper tools in the shedJustus is one of the sharper tools in the shedJustus is one of the sharper tools in the shedJustus is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Justus's Avatar
Name: Brock
Joined: Jan 2013, #94417
Location: Paso Robles
Age: 34
Gender: Male
Posts: 5,974
Justus's Tacoma Gallery
Btw, the older style trd and afe stage 2 si are 99% the same.....they are both made by afe....TRD does not make intakes, they contract others to do it.

Afe has a small port in front that u can cover or leave open (google pics)....the older trd is fully sealed but otherwise looks identical for the most part.

The new trd is flawed, made by k&n, has a goofy lil indicator on the box for filter life, clips on the top, and thrown cel under boost.........gadget at urd can sell u a maf calibrator that's tuned to fix this issue too.

Id just use the afe tho......buy it from gadget
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 03:04 PM   #4
ROMYER8313 [OP] ROMYER8313 is offline
Junior Member
ROMYER8313 is on a distinguished road
Army: 3rd Infantry Division,1st battalion, Bravo company, second platoon
Name: robert
Joined: Nov 2012, #91414
Location: medford oregon
Gender: Male
Posts: 20
ROMYER8313's Tacoma Gallery
Thanks for the info, I called and talked to gadget and he confirmed that the AFE was compatible.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 06:22 PM   #5
resident Apple Pie Monster
Justus is one of the sharper tools in the shedJustus is one of the sharper tools in the shedJustus is one of the sharper tools in the shedJustus is one of the sharper tools in the shedJustus is one of the sharper tools in the shedJustus is one of the sharper tools in the shedJustus is one of the sharper tools in the shedJustus is one of the sharper tools in the shedJustus is one of the sharper tools in the shedJustus is one of the sharper tools in the shedJustus is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Justus's Avatar
Name: Brock
Joined: Jan 2013, #94417
Location: Paso Robles
Age: 34
Gender: Male
Posts: 5,974
Justus's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by ROMYER8313 View Post
Thanks for the info, I called and talked to gadget and he confirmed that the AFE was compatible.
Cool beans
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 08:40 AM   #6
Senior Member
Lurkin is one of the sharper tools in the shedLurkin is one of the sharper tools in the shedLurkin is one of the sharper tools in the shedLurkin is one of the sharper tools in the shedLurkin is one of the sharper tools in the shedLurkin is one of the sharper tools in the shedLurkin is one of the sharper tools in the shedLurkin is one of the sharper tools in the shedLurkin is one of the sharper tools in the shedLurkin is one of the sharper tools in the shedLurkin is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Name: Rod
Joined: May 2009, #17497
Location: Pearland, TX
Gender: Male
Posts: 3,438
Lurkin's Tacoma Gallery
If I recall correctly Toyota does not support a CAI with the SC. So unless you are under warranty, should not be an issue.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB:AFE CAI Stage 2/ TRD CAI trd888 Buy / Sell / Trade 2 02-05-2011 01:07 PM
WTB: TRD CAI, URD CAI. drade Buy / Sell / Trade 3 10-08-2010 03:11 PM
AFE CAI (same as TRD CAI) for $280 shipped...good deal? yosh2000 2nd Gen. Tacomas 12 04-28-2010 09:59 AM
TRD CAI or the AFE CAI SI SLOCOMA Performance and Tuning 39 03-07-2010 01:11 PM
Afe cai or volant cai time4 4 Cylinder 11 01-26-2009 06:26 PM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.