Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Performance and Tuning

Notices

4.0L TRD S/C Vacuum Hose?

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-01-2013, 09:22 AM   #1
trailhoor [OP] trailhoor is offline
Banned
trailhoor is on a distinguished road
Joined: Dec 2009, #27962
Location: Colorado
Gender: Male
Posts: 78
trailhoor's Tacoma Gallery
4.0L TRD S/C Vacuum Hose?

I'm wondering if one of you TRD s/c'd guys can help me out. There's a vacuum line on the rear pass side of the engine coming off an actuator. I believe it adjusts fuel based on boost pressure. So, I connected this vacuum line to the pressurized side of the blower. However, I also have a vacuum port on my intake that it could connect to.

Any explanation on what this vacuum line does and which port it should connect to is much appreciated.

Working with APR to tune my X-1. David over there is awesome. One map change and the URD pulley gave some nice gains in Hp (just going by feel). Wondering if the 7th Inj is a must. More coin to drop but it sounds like that can make a huge difference in power with the additional cooling and increased efficiency of the roots. I also have a stock Y-pipe and muffler. I was thinking my next mod would be HID projectors but I'm goofing around with my motor now, ha hah
Attached Thumbnails
4.0L TRD S/C Vacuum Hose?-vacuum.jpg  
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2013, 11:19 PM   #4
Junior Member
navarski is on a distinguished road
Army: Combat-Veteran, 1AD Baumholder Germany. OIF2008-09 Sadr City.
Name: Navarski
Joined: Jun 2012, #80688
Location: Yuma County
Gender: Male
Posts: 24
navarski's Tacoma Gallery
Same here

I recently found that same long black hose dangling and burning on my headers. The port where it should go , has always been plugged with a little black cap and I cannot find where that hose could have been plugged up to. So I guess my question is,; why wasn't it originally plugged in in its proper place when the s/c was installed @ toyota?
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2013, 11:41 PM   #5
Senior Member
amain is one of the sharper tools in the shedamain is one of the sharper tools in the shedamain is one of the sharper tools in the shedamain is one of the sharper tools in the shedamain is one of the sharper tools in the shedamain is one of the sharper tools in the shedamain is one of the sharper tools in the shedamain is one of the sharper tools in the shedamain is one of the sharper tools in the shedamain is one of the sharper tools in the shedamain is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
amain's Avatar
Name: Brian
Joined: Sep 2011, #63744
Location: Washington
Gender: Male
Posts: 129
amain's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by navarski View Post
I recently found that same long black hose dangling and burning on my headers. The port where it should go , has always been plugged with a little black cap and I cannot find where that hose could have been plugged up to. So I guess my question is,; why wasn't it originally plugged in in its proper place when the s/c was installed @ toyota?
Um the above post is incorrect. The vacuum line actually goes to the intake tube. The port you see on top of the SC is capped off because that is where you hook up a boost gauge if installed.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2013, 05:38 AM   #6
abides.
Brunes is one of the sharper tools in the shedBrunes is one of the sharper tools in the shedBrunes is one of the sharper tools in the shedBrunes is one of the sharper tools in the shedBrunes is one of the sharper tools in the shedBrunes is one of the sharper tools in the shedBrunes is one of the sharper tools in the shedBrunes is one of the sharper tools in the shedBrunes is one of the sharper tools in the shedBrunes is one of the sharper tools in the shedBrunes is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Brunes's Avatar
Coast Guard: LT- CG MH-65C/D Driver- CGAS NOLA
Name: Mark
Joined: May 2008, #7011
Location: Big Easy, USA
Age: 30
Gender: Dude
Posts: 17,746
Brunes's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via AIM to Brunes
Quote:
Originally Posted by amain View Post
Um the above post is incorrect. The vacuum line actually goes to the intake tube. The port you see on top of the SC is capped off because that is where you hook up a boost gauge if installed.
It can be, but you can also boost reference the fuel pressure regulator like the above post described. Once my blower is on my truck - it will be "T"d and plugged into both the boost gauge and the FPR.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2013, 08:05 AM   #7
Senior Member
spithead051 is one of the sharper tools in the shedspithead051 is one of the sharper tools in the shedspithead051 is one of the sharper tools in the shedspithead051 is one of the sharper tools in the shedspithead051 is one of the sharper tools in the shedspithead051 is one of the sharper tools in the shedspithead051 is one of the sharper tools in the shedspithead051 is one of the sharper tools in the shedspithead051 is one of the sharper tools in the shedspithead051 is one of the sharper tools in the shedspithead051 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
spithead051's Avatar
Name: Patrick
Joined: Jun 2011, #58359
Location: Fairfax, VA
Gender: Male
Posts: 654
spithead051's Tacoma Gallery
I just installed a VAC/Boost gauge on my truck and that port on the S/C gives vacuum and boost readings. The FPR mod allows the FPR to not only adjust in vacuum but also when in boost by adding an extra pound of fuel pressure for each pound of boost.

Most folks just use that port for their boost gauge and that is fine for most S/C applications but if you want to add a pulley to your S/C it is strongly recommended to perform the FPR mod so the fuel system can keep up.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2013, 05:58 PM   #8
Junior Member
navarski is on a distinguished road
Army: Combat-Veteran, 1AD Baumholder Germany. OIF2008-09 Sadr City.
Name: Navarski
Joined: Jun 2012, #80688
Location: Yuma County
Gender: Male
Posts: 24
navarski's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by spithead051 View Post
I just installed a VAC/Boost gauge on my truck and that port on the S/C gives vacuum and boost readings. The FPR mod allows the FPR to not only adjust in vacuum but also when in boost by adding an extra pound of fuel pressure for each pound of boost.

Most folks just use that port for their boost gauge and that is fine for most S/C applications but if you want to add a pulley to your S/C it is strongly recommended to perform the FPR mod so the fuel system can keep up.

I got a urd 2.8 pulley on order, along with a fuel pump upgrade. What els would i need to support this smaller pulley?. I've read that no flash or tunning would be nassary with this size pulley,true?. Sorry for the rookie questions, im new to the whole S/C thing. oh.. and how how would a FPR mod work? Do you just buy a performance FPR? Thanks again ya'll.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2013, 06:06 PM   #10
Junior Member
navarski is on a distinguished road
Army: Combat-Veteran, 1AD Baumholder Germany. OIF2008-09 Sadr City.
Name: Navarski
Joined: Jun 2012, #80688
Location: Yuma County
Gender: Male
Posts: 24
navarski's Tacoma Gallery
THANKS

Thanks for the warm and fuzzy!
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2013, 06:18 PM   #12
Senior Member
tank3105 is on a distinguished road
Joined: Jun 2012, #80890
Location: Houston
Gender: Male
Posts: 224
tank3105's Tacoma Gallery
Yes fpr mod saved my ass till I get a fuel pump...
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vacuum Hose Part Numbers kigmob 1st Gen. Tacomas 10 05-31-2013 12:54 PM
TRD SUPERCHARGER 4.0L socalgasking Performance and Tuning 21 12-15-2011 10:53 AM
4.0L TRD supercharger JdMeF9SiR2 Buy / Sell / Trade 29 04-05-2011 10:50 PM
WTS Fence - Hose - Hose Roller AFButters Buy / Sell / Trade - Other 1 08-30-2010 12:39 PM
help on vacuum hose placements need pics TOYOTRON 1st Gen. Builds 0 08-06-2010 10:41 PM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.