Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Performance and Tuning

Notices

ScanGauge II coming today!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-23-2013, 01:24 PM   #1
ndub86 [OP] ndub86 is offline
Member
ndub86 will become famous soon enoughndub86 will become famous soon enough
Name: Neal
Joined: Jan 2013, #94764
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Gender: Male
Posts: 94
ndub86's Tacoma Gallery
ScanGauge II coming today!

So I ordered the ScanGuage II mostly out of curiosity in wanting to know what temp my engine operates at, transmission, my MPGs over various trips, etc. and to detect any problems before it becomes a problem...

It's supposed to arrive today. I always feel like a kid on Christmas morning when I order a new gadget and it shows up!

Hoping I'll have no problem with getting it to read the transmission temp. Saw some threads here where people had issues, but it seemed that 2011+ didn't have that issue anymore.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2013, 11:58 AM   #2
Senior Member
AFTaco will become famous soon enough
Air Force: 2W0
Name: Doug
Joined: Jul 2009, #19786
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
Gender: Dude
Posts: 195
AFTaco's Tacoma Gallery
Just curious, what problems did you read about? I have an 09 and was thinkin on getting one to read my tranny temp.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2013, 04:12 PM   #3
Senior Member
lasllc has a brilliant futurelasllc has a brilliant futurelasllc has a brilliant futurelasllc has a brilliant futurelasllc has a brilliant futurelasllc has a brilliant futurelasllc has a brilliant futurelasllc has a brilliant futurelasllc has a brilliant futurelasllc has a brilliant futurelasllc has a brilliant future
Navy: Lead PO Submarine Reactor Control Dvision
Joined: Feb 2009, #13507
Location: SW Denver Burb
Gender: Male
Posts: 236
lasllc's Tacoma Gallery
I just traded up from my 09 with man trans, so no trans temp available there, to a 13 DBSB sport and put on a new SG II. You will need to get the code specific to tacoma for trans temp. Mine works perfect with no probs at all. Runs in the mid 150's around town with 80+ outside temp.

Let me know and I will post code I used, if you need it.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2013, 11:53 PM   #4
Do it Dont talk about it
Ryan Tucker is on a distinguished road
Name: Ryan
Joined: Jul 2013, #108944
Location: Terrell Texas
Gender: Male
Posts: 107
Ryan Tucker's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by lasllc View Post
I just traded up from my 09 with man trans, so no trans temp available there, to a 13 DBSB sport and put on a new SG II. You will need to get the code specific to tacoma for trans temp. Mine works perfect with no probs at all. Runs in the mid 150's around town with 80+ outside temp.

Let me know and I will post code I used, if you need it.
Anything you could post to help read the trans temp would be great. Ive read the entire scan gauge book and been on here 3 hours reading through threads from the search feature, and not found it yet.

Ive got about 4 days driving now on my new SG II and love it so far, its a great tool. I tow a lot and really need to monitor the trans temp, its the main reason I choose it over the other couple options. Thanks

Tucker
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2013, 05:58 AM   #5
Senior Member
Lurkin is one of the sharper tools in the shedLurkin is one of the sharper tools in the shedLurkin is one of the sharper tools in the shedLurkin is one of the sharper tools in the shedLurkin is one of the sharper tools in the shedLurkin is one of the sharper tools in the shedLurkin is one of the sharper tools in the shedLurkin is one of the sharper tools in the shedLurkin is one of the sharper tools in the shedLurkin is one of the sharper tools in the shedLurkin is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Joined: May 2009, #17497
Location: Pearland, TX
Gender: Male
Posts: 3,288
Lurkin's Tacoma Gallery
Read through this, tranny temp xcodes are in there, search is your friend.

http://www.tacomaworld.com/forum/2nd...-pressure.html
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2013, 09:03 AM   #6
Senior Member
lasllc has a brilliant futurelasllc has a brilliant futurelasllc has a brilliant futurelasllc has a brilliant futurelasllc has a brilliant futurelasllc has a brilliant futurelasllc has a brilliant futurelasllc has a brilliant futurelasllc has a brilliant futurelasllc has a brilliant futurelasllc has a brilliant future
Navy: Lead PO Submarine Reactor Control Dvision
Joined: Feb 2009, #13507
Location: SW Denver Burb
Gender: Male
Posts: 236
lasllc's Tacoma Gallery
The codes and to what vehicles they apply are on the scan gauge website.
The booklet only tells you how to enter them
this coding is what worked for my '13 AT and is what is referred to above.

Transmission Fluid Temperature
TXD: 07E021D9
RXF: 032180000000
RXD: 2810
MTH: 00070065FE70
NAM: TFT
In degrees
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2013, 11:11 AM   #7
Senior Member
RacecarGuy is one of the sharper tools in the shedRacecarGuy is one of the sharper tools in the shedRacecarGuy is one of the sharper tools in the shedRacecarGuy is one of the sharper tools in the shedRacecarGuy is one of the sharper tools in the shedRacecarGuy is one of the sharper tools in the shedRacecarGuy is one of the sharper tools in the shedRacecarGuy is one of the sharper tools in the shedRacecarGuy is one of the sharper tools in the shedRacecarGuy is one of the sharper tools in the shedRacecarGuy is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Joined: Jul 2012, #82501
Location: Houston, Texas
Gender: Male
Posts: 247
RacecarGuy's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by ndub86 View Post
So I ordered the ScanGuage II mostly out of curiosity in wanting to know what temp my engine operates at, transmission, my MPGs over various trips, etc. and to detect any problems before it becomes a problem...

It's supposed to arrive today. I always feel like a kid on Christmas morning when I order a new gadget and it shows up!

Hoping I'll have no problem with getting it to read the transmission temp. Saw some threads here where people had issues, but it seemed that 2011+ didn't have that issue anymore.
Ndub86,

Can you post some pictures when you get it installed? I've been contemplating getting a SGII but not sure where I'd mount it yet.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2013, 12:09 PM   #8
Senior Member
lasllc has a brilliant futurelasllc has a brilliant futurelasllc has a brilliant futurelasllc has a brilliant futurelasllc has a brilliant futurelasllc has a brilliant futurelasllc has a brilliant futurelasllc has a brilliant futurelasllc has a brilliant futurelasllc has a brilliant futurelasllc has a brilliant future
Navy: Lead PO Submarine Reactor Control Dvision
Joined: Feb 2009, #13507
Location: SW Denver Burb
Gender: Male
Posts: 236
lasllc's Tacoma Gallery
I will put up a couple pics also; mine is over the mirror using a blend mount .
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2013, 12:17 PM   #9
Senior Member
Lurkin is one of the sharper tools in the shedLurkin is one of the sharper tools in the shedLurkin is one of the sharper tools in the shedLurkin is one of the sharper tools in the shedLurkin is one of the sharper tools in the shedLurkin is one of the sharper tools in the shedLurkin is one of the sharper tools in the shedLurkin is one of the sharper tools in the shedLurkin is one of the sharper tools in the shedLurkin is one of the sharper tools in the shedLurkin is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Joined: May 2009, #17497
Location: Pearland, TX
Gender: Male
Posts: 3,288
Lurkin's Tacoma Gallery
Also to be clear, 10+ have TFT1 and TFT2 for pan temp and torque converter temp, 09- is TFT1, pan temp only.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2013, 12:20 PM   #10
Senior Member
lasllc has a brilliant futurelasllc has a brilliant futurelasllc has a brilliant futurelasllc has a brilliant futurelasllc has a brilliant futurelasllc has a brilliant futurelasllc has a brilliant futurelasllc has a brilliant futurelasllc has a brilliant futurelasllc has a brilliant futurelasllc has a brilliant future
Navy: Lead PO Submarine Reactor Control Dvision
Joined: Feb 2009, #13507
Location: SW Denver Burb
Gender: Male
Posts: 236
lasllc's Tacoma Gallery
Blend mount and Scangauge. '13 DBSC Sport.
About 30 mins to run cable and configure mount.
Attached Thumbnails
ScanGauge II coming today!-image.jpg  
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2013, 04:10 PM   #11
Senior Member
RacecarGuy is one of the sharper tools in the shedRacecarGuy is one of the sharper tools in the shedRacecarGuy is one of the sharper tools in the shedRacecarGuy is one of the sharper tools in the shedRacecarGuy is one of the sharper tools in the shedRacecarGuy is one of the sharper tools in the shedRacecarGuy is one of the sharper tools in the shedRacecarGuy is one of the sharper tools in the shedRacecarGuy is one of the sharper tools in the shedRacecarGuy is one of the sharper tools in the shedRacecarGuy is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Joined: Jul 2012, #82501
Location: Houston, Texas
Gender: Male
Posts: 247
RacecarGuy's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by lasllc View Post
Blend mount and Scangauge. '13 DBSC Sport.
About 30 mins to run cable and configure mount.
I really like this setup but I've relocated my rear view mirror higher, so the scan gauge won't fit on top.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2013, 05:33 AM   #12
Senior Member
Lurkin is one of the sharper tools in the shedLurkin is one of the sharper tools in the shedLurkin is one of the sharper tools in the shedLurkin is one of the sharper tools in the shedLurkin is one of the sharper tools in the shedLurkin is one of the sharper tools in the shedLurkin is one of the sharper tools in the shedLurkin is one of the sharper tools in the shedLurkin is one of the sharper tools in the shedLurkin is one of the sharper tools in the shedLurkin is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Joined: May 2009, #17497
Location: Pearland, TX
Gender: Male
Posts: 3,288
Lurkin's Tacoma Gallery
Search, there is a thread on scanguage mount options that people have used.

I don't have pics, but one of the ideas that I picked up (since I also have the mirror relocate bracket), is to take the belt clip from a measuring tape (or somesuch) and a small screw (need to be careful to screw it back far enough that it doesn't hit the SG electronics), remove the SG back cover, screw in the clip to the back cover, then I added two pieces of the hook part of velcro to the either side of the clip. Then I clipped the SG to the top left of my headliner, and just have the cable routed down the A-pillar.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2013, 09:44 AM   #13
Do it Dont talk about it
Ryan Tucker is on a distinguished road
Name: Ryan
Joined: Jul 2013, #108944
Location: Terrell Texas
Gender: Male
Posts: 107
Ryan Tucker's Tacoma Gallery
Thanks guys, I bet Ive spent 3-4 hours reading on the subject. That thread and data dated a ways back and didn't come up through my searches but appreciate you posting it. I have all that wrote down I will go give it a try. Thanks again

Ryan
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2013, 04:09 PM   #14
Do it Dont talk about it
Ryan Tucker is on a distinguished road
Name: Ryan
Joined: Jul 2013, #108944
Location: Terrell Texas
Gender: Male
Posts: 107
Ryan Tucker's Tacoma Gallery
Worked great, no problem once you have the correct codes, thanks guys.

Ryan
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2013, 09:22 PM   #15
Senior Member
lasllc has a brilliant futurelasllc has a brilliant futurelasllc has a brilliant futurelasllc has a brilliant futurelasllc has a brilliant futurelasllc has a brilliant futurelasllc has a brilliant futurelasllc has a brilliant futurelasllc has a brilliant futurelasllc has a brilliant futurelasllc has a brilliant future
Navy: Lead PO Submarine Reactor Control Dvision
Joined: Feb 2009, #13507
Location: SW Denver Burb
Gender: Male
Posts: 236
lasllc's Tacoma Gallery
That's because you selected instantaneous MPG instead of average. Check the code list at the front of the book.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2013, 05:32 PM   #16
Senior Member
ntilehman is one of the sharper tools in the shedntilehman is one of the sharper tools in the shedntilehman is one of the sharper tools in the shedntilehman is one of the sharper tools in the shedntilehman is one of the sharper tools in the shedntilehman is one of the sharper tools in the shedntilehman is one of the sharper tools in the shedntilehman is one of the sharper tools in the shedntilehman is one of the sharper tools in the shedntilehman is one of the sharper tools in the shedntilehman is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Marines: Infantry
Name: Seth
Joined: Oct 2012, #89088
Location: Charlotte, NC
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,428
ntilehman's Tacoma Gallery
This code worked for my 09. Mounted on the steering column plastic with some velcro.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2013, 04:26 PM   #17
Senior Member
lasllc has a brilliant futurelasllc has a brilliant futurelasllc has a brilliant futurelasllc has a brilliant futurelasllc has a brilliant futurelasllc has a brilliant futurelasllc has a brilliant futurelasllc has a brilliant futurelasllc has a brilliant futurelasllc has a brilliant futurelasllc has a brilliant future
Navy: Lead PO Submarine Reactor Control Dvision
Joined: Feb 2009, #13507
Location: SW Denver Burb
Gender: Male
Posts: 236
lasllc's Tacoma Gallery
When SC is in norm op mode, 4 gauges displayed, whenever you push a button it advances that display to the next gauge.

You need to post the four 3 alpha codes that the gauge displays when motor is running and the position on gauge (lower left, upper right, etc)
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2013, 05:12 PM   #18
Senior Member
lasllc has a brilliant futurelasllc has a brilliant futurelasllc has a brilliant futurelasllc has a brilliant futurelasllc has a brilliant futurelasllc has a brilliant futurelasllc has a brilliant futurelasllc has a brilliant futurelasllc has a brilliant futurelasllc has a brilliant futurelasllc has a brilliant future
Navy: Lead PO Submarine Reactor Control Dvision
Joined: Feb 2009, #13507
Location: SW Denver Burb
Gender: Male
Posts: 236
lasllc's Tacoma Gallery
At each of the four corners the display is a number and a 3 digit alpha code for example : 68.0 MPH is you speed ad reported by the ECU. 2114 RPM is engine rpm.

You did set this up according to page 4 - 13 right?
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2013, 05:20 PM   #19
Senior Member
lasllc has a brilliant futurelasllc has a brilliant futurelasllc has a brilliant futurelasllc has a brilliant futurelasllc has a brilliant futurelasllc has a brilliant futurelasllc has a brilliant futurelasllc has a brilliant futurelasllc has a brilliant futurelasllc has a brilliant futurelasllc has a brilliant future
Navy: Lead PO Submarine Reactor Control Dvision
Joined: Feb 2009, #13507
Location: SW Denver Burb
Gender: Male
Posts: 236
lasllc's Tacoma Gallery
Referring back to YOUR post #15. How do you know if your mpg is jumping around if you don't even know if SC is displaying mpg as you are unaware of the 3 digit alpha codes that tell you what you are looking at ?
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 09:41 AM   #20
Senior Member
lasllc has a brilliant futurelasllc has a brilliant futurelasllc has a brilliant futurelasllc has a brilliant futurelasllc has a brilliant futurelasllc has a brilliant futurelasllc has a brilliant futurelasllc has a brilliant futurelasllc has a brilliant futurelasllc has a brilliant futurelasllc has a brilliant future
Navy: Lead PO Submarine Reactor Control Dvision
Joined: Feb 2009, #13507
Location: SW Denver Burb
Gender: Male
Posts: 236
lasllc's Tacoma Gallery
Page 26 of the manual. This thing is not exactly plug and play, you know.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OBD II reader vs. Scangauge II Amo-cat3 Technical Chat 1 02-15-2012 10:54 AM
NEW: Scangauge E reader.. Better than Scangauge II? Airwolf NSX Product Reviews 6 11-27-2011 06:44 PM
Help With Scangauge II YayAreaTaco0311 2nd Gen. Tacomas 2 12-26-2010 03:05 PM
scangauge II cole47 1st Gen. Tacomas 4 05-18-2010 07:45 AM
Scangauge II SMG26 2nd Gen. Tacomas 6 08-05-2009 04:24 AM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.