Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Performance and Tuning

Notices

Muffler vs. Catback

Old 01-26-2015, 02:55 PM   #1
KiloWhiskey is on a distinguished road
Air Force:
KiloWhiskey's Tacoma Gallery
Muffler vs. Catback

I am very new to the Toyota truck world and have tried to research as much as I can. I have Googled and searched all over and I have not quite received the answer yet. I have read that stock exhausts on our trucks (4.0L) are going to be as efficient as they can be. Adding a cat-back that is the same size piping as our stock exhaust will not change the power at all and just the sound (correct me if I am wrong). A larger diameter exhaust is going to improve the top end power, but your power band for tq will be cut out. So, with that being said. I am not interested in adding a larger diameter piping to my truck. So if I want the sound, would I be fine with simply changing the muffler, or does an actual cat-back (at 2.5") make a difference in power? Thanks all.
Old 01-26-2015, 04:57 PM   #2
resident Apple Pie Monster
Justus is one of the sharper tools in the shedJustus is one of the sharper tools in the shedJustus is one of the sharper tools in the shedJustus is one of the sharper tools in the shedJustus is one of the sharper tools in the shedJustus is one of the sharper tools in the shedJustus is one of the sharper tools in the shedJustus is one of the sharper tools in the shedJustus is one of the sharper tools in the shedJustus is one of the sharper tools in the shedJustus is one of the sharper tools in the shed

Name: Brock
Justus's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by KiloWhiskey View Post