Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Product Reviews

Notices

Westin Ultimate Bull Bar

Old 08-10-2012, 07:01 AM   #1
Don Groff is on a distinguished road
Air Force: Lt Colonel, Civil Engineer (Ret)
Don Groff's Tacoma Gallery
Westin Ultimate Bull Bar

Hi folks, newbie here
I have more of a question than a product review but........
Jist picked up a 2012 Double Cab 4.0 with the Off-Road Package

I bought the Westin Ultimate Bull Bar - largely because of the "No drilling" installation. Two simple brackets bolt onto existing bumper hardware. The bar itself bolts to these brackets. I don't have a picture, but a flat plate on each side of the bar bolts to the flat plates bolted to the bumper frame.

But the holes the bolts go through are significantly larger than the diameter of the bolts. I'm sure this is to allow for positioning and adjustment - but - I can't seem to get the bolts tight enough to keep the plates from slipping a bit and the bar from drooping. There's only two bolts on each side and I broke two of them last night during installation. The only thing I can think of is getting the bar into the desired position (already replaced the broken bolts) and then drilling a third hole on each side and threading another, properly sized smaller bolt through that hole

Thanks

Don
Old 08-10-2012, 11:42 AM   #2
Bender581 is one of the sharper tools in the shedBender581 is one of the sharper tools in the shedBender581 is one of the sharper tools in the shedBender581 is one of the sharper tools in the shedBender581 is one of the sharper tools in the shedBender581 is one of the sharper tools in the shedBender581 is one of the sharper tools in the shedBender581 is one of the sharper tools in the shedBender581 is one of the sharper tools in the shedBender581 is one of the sharper tools in the shedBender581 is one of the sharper tools in the shed

Bender581's Tacoma Gallery