Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Off-Topic > Sports, Hobbies & Interests

Notices

Shortwave Radio Antenna Help

Old 01-14-2014, 07:26 AM   #1
Joe D is one of the sharper tools in the shedJoe D is one of the sharper tools in the shedJoe D is one of the sharper tools in the shedJoe D is one of the sharper tools in the shedJoe D is one of the sharper tools in the shedJoe D is one of the sharper tools in the shedJoe D is one of the sharper tools in the shedJoe D is one of the sharper tools in the shedJoe D is one of the sharper tools in the shedJoe D is one of the sharper tools in the shedJoe D is one of the sharper tools in the shed

Name: Joe
Joe D's Tacoma Gallery
Shortwave Radio Antenna Help

I'm hoping to get some pointers on installing an antenna for a shortwave radio.

My parents are staying at my place during the winter and my father has asked me to install a shortwave radio antenna. I have ZERO knowledge about what is the best mix of length / gauge / ground / height ect. He is blind and will be little assistance. I've done quit a bit of reading on line and have visited a Radio Shack to get some info. Seems everyone has a different plan on what works. Radio Shack, at least locally, doesn't even sell wire for an outside antenna.

My house has a metal roof so I'm concerned installation in the attic would not work well.

Can anyone, who has or has knowledge of, point me in the right direction? Kinda from the ground up....

Thanks.
Old 01-15-2014, 05:19 AM   #2