Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Suspension

Notices

No 16" rims on 6" lift

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-17-2010, 05:26 PM   #1
FLtaco [OP] FLtaco is offline
Senior Member
FLtaco is one of the sharper tools in the shedFLtaco is one of the sharper tools in the shedFLtaco is one of the sharper tools in the shedFLtaco is one of the sharper tools in the shedFLtaco is one of the sharper tools in the shedFLtaco is one of the sharper tools in the shedFLtaco is one of the sharper tools in the shedFLtaco is one of the sharper tools in the shedFLtaco is one of the sharper tools in the shedFLtaco is one of the sharper tools in the shedFLtaco is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
FLtaco's Avatar
Name: Nick
Joined: Jul 2010, #40249
Location: Cocoa beach, fl
Gender: Male
Posts: 664
FLtaco's Tacoma Gallery
No 16" rims on 6" lift

I have a set of 16" rims now and was wanting to upgrade my 3" lift on truck to a 6" but have read online that you must have 17"+ rims in order to do so. Any truth behind this? Or is it only with certain lifts? Also can my 3" lift be combined with the new 6" lift?
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2010, 05:48 PM   #2
With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine.
chris4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedchris4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedchris4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedchris4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedchris4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedchris4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedchris4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedchris4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedchris4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedchris4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedchris4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
chris4x4's Avatar
Name: FlimFlubberJAM
Joined: May 2008, #6497
Location: Tenoe, AZ
Gender: Male
Posts: 96,721
chris4x4's Tacoma Gallery
IIRC, THe drop bracket lifts use a different spindle, so the larger wheel must be used.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2010, 05:53 PM   #3
Mr. Boombastic
TacoIII will become famous soon enoughTacoIII will become famous soon enough
 
TacoIII's Avatar
Air Force: Security forces
Name: Andrew
Joined: May 2010, #36532
Location: Overpelt, Belgium and Moultrie,Georgia
Age: 26
Gender: Dude
Posts: 1,214
TacoIII's Tacoma Gallery
could a spacer be used to make the 16" fit?
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2010, 05:46 PM   #4
Mr. Boombastic
TacoIII will become famous soon enoughTacoIII will become famous soon enough
 
TacoIII's Avatar
Air Force: Security forces
Name: Andrew
Joined: May 2010, #36532
Location: Overpelt, Belgium and Moultrie,Georgia
Age: 26
Gender: Dude
Posts: 1,214
TacoIII's Tacoma Gallery
bump
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2010, 05:46 PM   #5
Mr. Boombastic
TacoIII will become famous soon enoughTacoIII will become famous soon enough
 
TacoIII's Avatar
Air Force: Security forces
Name: Andrew
Joined: May 2010, #36532
Location: Overpelt, Belgium and Moultrie,Georgia
Age: 26
Gender: Dude
Posts: 1,214
TacoIII's Tacoma Gallery
? still wondering
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2010, 06:24 PM   #6
Senior Member
tacoma44x44 is on a distinguished road
Name: Jamie
Joined: Dec 2008, #11601
Location: Calgary, AB
Gender: Male
Posts: 172
tacoma44x44's Tacoma Gallery
Yep 16" stock trd rim works on a Fabtech 6" with spidertrax spacers..
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2010, 06:27 PM   #7
Mr. Boombastic
TacoIII will become famous soon enoughTacoIII will become famous soon enough
 
TacoIII's Avatar
Air Force: Security forces
Name: Andrew
Joined: May 2010, #36532
Location: Overpelt, Belgium and Moultrie,Georgia
Age: 26
Gender: Dude
Posts: 1,214
TacoIII's Tacoma Gallery
so im guessing itll work on a pro comp lift to??
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2010, 06:30 PM   #8
Senior Member
tacoma44x44 is on a distinguished road
Name: Jamie
Joined: Dec 2008, #11601
Location: Calgary, AB
Gender: Male
Posts: 172
tacoma44x44's Tacoma Gallery
I heard you cant with the pro comp cause the spindles are different. ( dont quote me on that one). But i do know that the RCD DB lift will fit the 16" stockers but you will have to trim the tie rods a little.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2010, 06:32 PM   #9
Mr. Boombastic
TacoIII will become famous soon enoughTacoIII will become famous soon enough
 
TacoIII's Avatar
Air Force: Security forces
Name: Andrew
Joined: May 2010, #36532
Location: Overpelt, Belgium and Moultrie,Georgia
Age: 26
Gender: Dude
Posts: 1,214
TacoIII's Tacoma Gallery
hmmmm. well thanks for the info! maybe someone on here knows for sure
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tires on 16" stock rims with 3" lift cperk 2nd Gen. Builds 17 12-28-2011 09:26 PM
WTS: Pro Comp Level Lift (05+) $60, TRD Offroad 16" alloy rims + 32" tires $150. shaneckc Buy / Sell / Trade 15 08-16-2010 12:08 PM
6" Lift with 16" Rims? tacoma44x44 Suspension 15 05-16-2010 10:28 AM
285/75/16 Nitto TG's + Stock TRD 16" Rims + Stock UCA's + 3" lift = ??? TacoCo Wheels & Tires 3 02-27-2009 01:29 PM
16" rims with a 6" lift? taco@you123 Suspension 11 08-16-2008 02:57 AM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.