Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Suspension

Notices

New suspension questions...

Old 11-03-2010, 02:00 AM   #1
TacomaAroma is on a distinguished road
TacomaAroma's Tacoma Gallery
New suspension questions...

Damn you all! You got me hooked!

Now I got that out of the way, I am lifting my new 2011 Taco and have some questions along the way. Might I point out I am a total rookie. The only work I have ever done on a vehicle is a fuel pump replacement, and regular maintenance, oil, plugs etc. So I am doing my research, and compiling the knowledge I need. Along with this I have a few questions.

I heard it was a good idea to do a 1'' body lift with a 2'' suspension lift for the desired 3'' lift in order to keep suspension and steering geometry closer to stock. Wondering if anyone had any thoughts on this?

Provided I go with the suspension/body lift combo, I would be using a full set of bilstein 5100 giving me 2'' front 1'' rear followed with a 1'' body lift. Then add a 1'' leveling kit to the rear. Anyone see any issues with this plan? Should I be installing a leaf instead?

Still haven't figured out if I am going to be installing myself or not. I would like to for the project, and to save a few bucks though.
Old 11-03-2010, 08:35 AM   #2
sees what you did there.
KPT is one of the sharper tools in the shedKPT is one of the sharper tools in the shedKPT is one of the sharper tools in the shedKPT is one of the sharper tools in the shedKPT is one of the sharper tools in the shedKPT is one of the sharper tools in the shedKPT is one of the sharper tools in the shedKPT is one of the sharper tools in the shedKPT is one of the sharper tools in the shedKPT is one of the sharper tools in the shedKPT is one of the sharper tools in the shed

KPT's Tacoma Gallery
The only geometry issues you may end up with with a 3" suspension lift is that your caster may be out of whack unless you buy new upper control arms (UCA's). Some do, some don't.