Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Suspension

Notices

Why are body lifts not a good idea?

Old 11-05-2011, 07:29 PM   #1
If ya ain't first, your last!
CNEDEER is just really niceCNEDEER is just really niceCNEDEER is just really niceCNEDEER is just really niceCNEDEER is just really nice
Name: Nate
CNEDEER's Tacoma Gallery
Why are body lifts not a good idea?

Alright, so I've been back and forth on what lift kit to purchase. I don't do any offroading, aside from a gravel or dirt road here and there while hunting. I've done some looking around on the forums and everyone seems to hate on the body lifts? I'm not an expert on lifts whatsoever, so I was curious as to what their flaws are? To me, it seems like a good idea, given the price, and the fact that I don't ever go offroad, plus less wear and tear on my suspension and front end compared to a suspension lift (or am I wrong). Anyways, can someone clue me in as to the "cons" of these body lifts?
Old 11-05-2011, 07:33 PM   #2
Pineapples on pizza Hawaiian does not it make.
Konaborne is one of the sharper tools in the shedKonaborne is one of the sharper tools in the shedKonaborne is one of the sharper tools in the shedKonaborne is one of the sharper tools in the shedKonaborne is one of the sharper tools in the shedKonaborne is one of the sharper tools in the shedKonaborne is one of the sharper tools in the shedKonaborne is one of the sharper tools in the shedKonaborne is one of the sharper tools in the shedKonaborne is one of the sharper tools in the shedKonaborne is one of the sharper tools in the shed

Name: Cody
Konaborne's Tacoma Gallery
BBody lifts weaken the connection between the body of the truck and the frame by adding spacers, if you get into an accident, this can be a damage multiplier
also, there's been quite a few people who have had the spacers wear holes completely through their frames.