Notices

Looking for some advice

Old 11-11-2011, 07:30 PM   #1
Curious George is on a distinguished road
Name: George
Curious George's Tacoma Gallery
Looking for some advice

Hello,

I recently purchased my first truck, and have just now begun to enjoy driving off-road for the first time. Iíve met two other couples that have allowed me to tag along with their group on several off-road, weekend-long trips during the past couple months, and now I am very interested in improving the off-road capability of my truck.

My new friends both drive Jeep Cherokees, and while they speak very highly of my Tacoma, I think the experts on this Website may be better able to help me out and offer advice.

Iíve spent some time reading about suspension upgrades on this site. However, while Iím beginning to get a better understanding of the basics, Iím still a total beginner (as will be apparent by my questions). And, to make matters worse, Iíve never worked on cars and Iíve never been mechanically inclined (Iím an accountant, eek).

Here is what Iím hoping to accomplish, and in this order:

- Iím looking to improve the suspension of the truck. (Unless theyíre one in the same, Iím not necessarily looking to significantly increase the ride height of the truck.)
- Allow for a significant amount of towing time. (In the future, I hope to tow a small fiberglass trailer up to ten times per year. The tongue weight of the trailer should not exceed 220 pounds.)
- If possible, Iíd like to retain the truckís ability to drive nicely at highway speeds. (Iíve read some posts expressing concern or issues with vibration or grinding sounds arising after altering the suspension of their truck?)
- Currently, I donít plan to install a new front bumper or a winch.

Is this possible, or am I being unrealistic?

Also, for me right now, quality and performance are more important than price.

Any suggestions?