Notices

replace/upgrade suspension without lift

Old 12-04-2011, 12:06 PM   #1
04SR5 is on a distinguished road
Marines: Sergeant Major
04SR5's Tacoma Gallery
replace/upgrade suspension without lift

Hi all, 1st post newbie here.

I am a new Tacoma owner, and have a new to me 2004 xtra cab SR5 that is bone stock. The ride is a little rough and bouncy, and I'd like to improve it, but I don't have a need to lift the truck. I am a Marine and spend some time on ranges on base, but I'm not seriously off roading, and don't have any plans to. I am moderately mechanically inclined, and have a robust auto hobby shop available to me on base, but I am completely unfamiliar with truck suspension and how to replace them. I read some of the sticky threads about suspension, but they all seem to be for lifting a truck, and I just don't need that. I'd like to do this fairly cheap, but not at the expense of quality.

I am open to any and all suggestions to improve my ride. Thanks.
Old 12-04-2011, 12:08 PM   #2
Stop staring at me swan!
tacoman15 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoman15 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoman15 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoman15 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoman15 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoman15 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoman15 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoman15 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoman15 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoman15 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoman15 is one of the sharper tools in the shed

Name: Chris
tacoman15's Tacoma Gallery
5100's all around and have the front set to the 0" setting. won't lift your truck but will give it a much better ride quality
Old 12-04-2011, 01:28 PM   #3
04SR5's Tacoma Gallery
Looking around the web the 5100's don't appear to be made for my truck. Even billstein's website takes me to the 4600's when I enter make and model info.
Old 12-04-2011, 01:31 PM   #4