Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Suspension

Notices

strut assembly boot and retainer moves freely?

Old 06-11-2012, 07:00 PM   #1
iiFlynRyan is on a distinguished road
iiFlynRyan's Tacoma Gallery
Question strut assembly boot and retainer moves freely?

I just put on some OME 882 coils and OME 90004 struts and they rode great for a few days, but then I started hearing a concerning clunking on every bump from the front right. I pulled off my wheel and think the sound it coming from the boot and inner retainer on my strut assembly. They both move freely when the weight of my truck is off them. Is this normal?

I'm a noob and this is my first time working on my suspension and I couldn't find any information regarding this, probably because its common sense.

Thanks!
Old 06-12-2012, 03:10 PM   #2
sees what you did there.
KPT is one of the sharper tools in the shedKPT is one of the sharper tools in the shedKPT is one of the sharper tools in the shedKPT is one of the sharper tools in the shedKPT is one of the sharper tools in the shedKPT is one of the sharper tools in the shedKPT is one of the sharper tools in the shedKPT is one of the sharper tools in the shedKPT is one of the sharper tools in the shedKPT is one of the sharper tools in the shedKPT is one of the sharper tools in the shed

KPT's Tacoma Gallery
Can you take a picture of what you mean by "inner retainer"?
Old 06-12-2012, 04:21 PM   #3
iiFlynRyan is on a distinguished road
iiFlynRyan's Tacoma Gallery

hope this helps
both these parts within the coil move freely
Old 06-12-2012, 04:25 PM   #4
sees what you did there.