1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Advice before I go to the shop

Discussion in 'Suspension' started by JAK, Oct 1, 2012.

1. Oct 1, 2012 at 6:44 PM
    JAK

JAK [OP] New Member

Member:
    Northern Virginia
    Vehicle:
    2011 TRD Sport 4x4
    Alright, so I've been researching this forum for at least 2 months learning about lifts and whatnot. I got my 2011 TRD sport 4x4 about a month ago and today I called a local truck shop about getting a small lift.

I told him I was looking at lifting her 2.5-3 inches and I told him that the previous owner had already thrown on some big tires (265/70R17 cooper discoverer stt). He replied that with tires that size, the first owner had most likely also installed a leveling kit because I told him I had no rubbing issues. I have no idea if my truck has a leveling kit or not (again, I don't know anything about this stuff).

The issue here is that the guy told me I had limited options with a 2011 tacoma. He told me other than a leveling kit, I would be looking at an expensive suspension set up, something I don't need nor want. I'm willing to spend $800-$1000 on this. After all the reading on this forum, I was looking at getting 5100s on the front and add a leaf to lift the rear because it seems like everyone on here recommends that set up.

Basically, I wanted any input ya'll might have before I go to the shop on saturday so they can at least take a look at it. I plan on asking about the 5100s and rear aal to see what he says.

Here's a picture of my truck for reference.
    [​IMG]

2. Oct 1, 2012 at 6:52 PM
    OH-MAN

OH-MAN Well-Known Member

Member:
    First Name: