Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Suspension

Notices

looking at new shocks/struts

Old 03-05-2013, 06:22 PM   #1
tato1989 is on a distinguished road
tato1989's Tacoma Gallery
looking at new shocks/struts

Im new to a tacoma, and looking to get new shocks and struts for an 05 pre-runner. Im mainly driving on highways, but anyways im looking at skyjackers. Any advice on which ones will work great on stock height prerunner. Thanks!
Old 03-05-2013, 07:10 PM   #2
ROAD DAWG is on a distinguished road
Navy: boatswains'mate,2nd
ROAD DAWG's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by tato1989 View Post
Im new to a tacoma, and looking to get new shocks and struts for an 05 pre-runner. Im mainly driving on highways, but anyways im looking at skyjackers. Any advice on which ones will work great on stock height prerunner. Thanks!
i have no experience with that brand,for a first time lift,or replacement schocks..most will recommend bilstein 5100,or old man emu...these choices are proved on a daily basis by just about everyone on this site.not sure what you're running now,but i can tell you that the bilstein 5100 would be a vast improvement over a stock set-up,even at stock ride height...you'll be amazed.i lifted my otherwise"stock" truck with the billies set at.85(first clip past stock ride height)i was involved with autocross for a few years,(77 celica/mustang svo/vw sirocco)those guys always raved about "bilstein and koni"...never heard anything about skyjacker....you may be making a bonified choice,but look into it a bit farther...billies make a good +1 set-up from stock,and they are humongus compared to what comes as stock on a tacoma...check out "downsouth motorsports",those guys know their stuff...doubt if they'd recommend skyjacker...jus sayin'.
Old 03-05-2013, 07:14 PM   #3
resident Apple Pie Monster