Notices

UCA Comparison

Old 03-08-2013, 08:51 AM   #1
Grakyn is on a distinguished road

Name: Kyle
Grakyn's Tacoma Gallery
UCA Comparison

Hi folks,

First off, my apologies if there is already a thread on this. Didn't see one.

I'm relatively new to lifting. I have a 2013 DCLB TRD Sport. I'm looking at grabbing the ToyTec Ultimate lift. I'm just wondering about upper control arms. What am I looking for in a UCA? The ToyTec lift gives the option of adding Light Racing UCAs, but in cruising some builds, I see people are using Total Chaos, Icon, All Pro and a few others. Now given that I'm not opposed to spending money to get good quality, what should I be looking for?
Old 03-08-2013, 10:54 AM   #2
IKA fabrications
bullaculla is one of the sharper tools in the shedbullaculla is one of the sharper tools in the shedbullaculla is one of the sharper tools in the shedbullaculla is one of the sharper tools in the shedbullaculla is one of the sharper tools in the shedbullaculla is one of the sharper tools in the shedbullaculla is one of the sharper tools in the shedbullaculla is one of the sharper tools in the shedbullaculla is one of the sharper tools in the shedbullaculla is one of the sharper tools in the shedbullaculla is one of the sharper tools in the shed

bullaculla's Tacoma Gallery
Light Racing/SPC uses an adjustable ball joint and is quite a bit cheaper than most aftermarket UCAs. Its also sealed so there is little to no maintenance.

Total Chaos, All Pro, and Icons tubular UCAs uses a uniball which will give more travel than a regular ball joint, but requires more maintenance and the uniball will need to be replaced when it wears out. They also can get squeaky from what I have read here on TW.
These are also non adjustable unless you want to upgrade to the TC heim joint UCAs, or the $1300 ICON billet aluminum UCAs which also have heim joints and a dustcover on the uniball.
Old 03-08-2013, 10:55 AM   #3
I've seen things you people wouldn't believe ....