Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Suspension

Notices

Coil over question

Old 08-19-2013, 10:21 AM   #1
06hawkman is on a distinguished road
Name: Tony
06hawkman's Tacoma Gallery
Coil over question

OK bear with me I am a newbie when it comes to trucks, but have been working on cars forever. My question stems from the work I have done on cars installing aftermarket coil overs. On cars the threaded portion of the shock body actually raises and lowers in the lower shock mount to achieve a desired ride height independent of spring preload, now this is a good thing because you can raise or lower your vehicle without getting a softer or more harsh ride, however I have noticed that all aftermarket coil overs for the Tacoma do not have this option. Is there a reason for this as I would like to raise my truck but do not want a super stiff ride. I will attach a picture to show what I am talking about and if any body knows of a company who makes a coil over like this for our truck please let me know, or if any body knows why they are not designed like this I would appreciate it. I would like to raise the truck 3" but do not want the harshness associated with that high of a lift. Your help is appreciated. Here is the coil over for reference

Old 08-19-2013, 10:23 AM   #2
Student / Vol. FF
MGMTacoFF is one of the sharper tools in the shedMGMTacoFF is one of the sharper tools in the shedMGMTacoFF is one of the sharper tools in the shedMGMTacoFF is one of the sharper tools in the shedMGMTacoFF is one of the sharper tools in the shedMGMTacoFF is one of the sharper tools in the shedMGMTacoFF is one of the sharper tools in the shedMGMTacoFF is one of the sharper tools in the shedMGMTacoFF is one of the sharper tools in the shedMGMTacoFF is one of the sharper tools in the shedMGMTacoFF is one of the sharper tools in the shed

Name: Matt
MGMTacoFF's Tacoma Gallery