1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Weight questions for OME coils and leafs

Discussion in 'Suspension' started by RMtacoma, Aug 20, 2013.

1. Aug 20, 2013 at 2:15 PM
    RMtacoma

RMtacoma [OP] Adenture Taco

Member:
    Frisco, CO
    Vehicle:
    05 TRD Sport
    So I just got back from a wildfire assignment and have some money starting to burn a hole in my pocket. I have been researching lifts for my 2005 Access cab Tacoma for awhile now. I am thinking of finally pulling the trigger.

Most of my research has been based on the awesome input from folks on this forum. I am looking for a moderate lift to increase the height and durability of my suspension on the truck. It is very much still going to be my daily driver, but it has also become our weekend adventure vehicle for camping, climbing and exploring.

Based on those I am pretty set on the OME kit. Great ratings from a lot of TW members. I spoke with a local off road shop who supplies the parts and will do the labor and after talking to them I had some reservations and questions about what the final decision should be.

Though I cannot afford it now I would like to add bumpers to the truck in the future. I already have a Softopper and sleeping platform on the bed of the truck. This weight alone has more than flattened my rear leaf springs and it takes very little movement to hit the bump stops.

My initial plan was to do the 886 coils up front and the Dakar packs with the AAL in the rear. I was told that using that setup without weight on the truck immediately is not good.

I was told to get the 885 coils with the Dakar packs.