1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

newbie help

Discussion in 'Suspension' started by jpipes, Aug 15, 2009.

1. Aug 15, 2009 at 1:01 PM
    jpipes

jpipes [OP] New Member

Member:
    All -

I am new to Tacoma's and 4 wheel drive and have never really been a "car guy", so please go easy on me. I am taking ownership of a 07 4 door 4x4 sr5 that is 100% stock in all facets. It has 30k on the odometer, and is a manual transmission. I know nothing about suspension/lift kits and upgrades, so I am turning to you guys for help!

Here is what I am trying to accomplish and where we go most often, and I hope you guys can help me get from point "a" to point "b":

1) I will use the truck at my deer lease quite often, which is rocky, but not "rock crawler" rocky. Lots of hills and some muddy areas, but nothing crazy.
    2) I will use the truck at a ranch in deep south Texas, which has extremely loose and sandy soil. When I say "deep south", I mean that we are about an hour drive to any type of civilization, so I need reliability and the ability to not get stuck (within reason).
    3) I live in the Houston metro area, and my wife and I take our family to the beach quite a bit.
    4) Given that this is Hurricane area....you get my drift, hopefully.

I'm not looking for aggressive lifts or dramatic modifications. I am looking to keep it stock in looks but be as capable as possible. I also will use the truck as a daily driver, for what it's worth.

Thanks guys, I appreciate your advice!

Best,
    Josh

2. Aug 15, 2009 at 1:48 PM
    98tacoma27

98tacoma27 is going full "SANDWICH" Moderator

Member:
    First Name:
    Ben