1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Lift questions...be patient with me please!

Discussion in 'Suspension' started by BluTaco08, Sep 17, 2009.

1. Sep 17, 2009 at 1:57 PM
    BluTaco08

BluTaco08 [OP] I LiKe TaCos

Member:
    I just have a few questions concerning the proper lift for my 5-lug Tacoma. I'm a noob to trucks so please be patient with me. And yes, I did read the sticky about lifting your Tacoma, and though I got a lot of information from it I need some expert advice. Also, I'm driving a 08 Reg. Cab, 5-lug...

For a while now I've been shopping around for a good lift kit for my Taco. I had my mind set on the ReadyLift SST kit that they have offered for a few months now, but then I was doing some research and I'm not so sure I want a spacer lift. I've heard the ride quality is terrible and it puts a strain on the CV's as far as the angle goes. I'm not looking to do any higher than 2.75'' to 3''.

So, I've been reading up and looking around some more lately and on the forums I keep hearing about Billy 5100's. Some people have put them all around and some in the front but not the rear and some in the rear but not in the front. However, most of the Taco's I've seen them on are 6-lugs (I'm not sure if that makes a difference or not).

Also, I keep reading about the AAL's too for the rear. I've also heard the ride quality provided by the AAL's isn't that great unless the rear shocks are upgraded.

And then I've seen the Fox Coilover's with the resovoirs, but again..only on a 6-lug.

So, here's where my questions are:

1.) What are the available lift options for a 5-lug Tacoma ?