Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Technical Chat

Notices

Timing belt vs. chain

Old 07-16-2008, 02:13 AM   #1
Curyfury is on a distinguished road
Navy: Nuke
Curyfury's Tacoma Gallery
Timing belt vs. chain

Bought a used 1998 2.4L and from my understanding it has a timing chain. I'm new to cars with a timing chain, but it sounds like you don't have to worry about the timing chain as much as you do with a timing belt. After reading some threads, it sounds like new generation tacomas come with timing belts. Why is it that toyota went with a belt in the newer models when they seem to be higher maintenance?
Old 07-16-2008, 04:02 AM   #2
Old & Forgetful
Janster is one of the sharper tools in the shedJanster is one of the sharper tools in the shedJanster is one of the sharper tools in the shedJanster is one of the sharper tools in the shedJanster is one of the sharper tools in the shedJanster is one of the sharper tools in the shedJanster is one of the sharper tools in the shedJanster is one of the sharper tools in the shedJanster is one of the sharper tools in the shedJanster is one of the sharper tools in the shedJanster is one of the sharper tools in the shed

Name: Jandy
Janster's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Curyfury View Post
Bought a used 1998 2.4L and from my understanding it has a timing chain. I'm new to cars with a timing chain, but it sounds like you don't have to worry about the timing chain as much as you do with a timing belt. After reading some threads, it sounds like new generation tacomas come with timing belts. Why is it that toyota went with a belt in the newer models when they seem to be higher maintenance?
I honestly couldn't tell you why they switched....

If I had to guess - Timing belts are quieter and they don't stretch as much. Chains can stretch and get sloppy/noisy. When they stretch - that causes more wear and tear on the sprockets they ride on (machine term).

I'm sure other people will add to this.