1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Timing belt vs. chain

Discussion in 'Technical Chat' started by Curyfury, Jul 16, 2008.

1. Jul 16, 2008 at 2:13 AM
    Curyfury

Curyfury [OP] New Member

Member:
    San Jose, Ca
    Vehicle:
    1998 SR5
    Bought a used 1998 2.4L and from my understanding it has a timing chain. I'm new to cars with a timing chain, but it sounds like you don't have to worry about the timing chain as much as you do with a timing belt. After reading some threads, it sounds like new generation tacomas come with timing belts. Why is it that toyota went with a belt in the newer models when they seem to be higher maintenance?

2. Jul 16, 2008 at 4:02 AM
    Janster

Janster Old & Forgetful

Member:
    First Name:
    Jandy
    Lancaster, PA
    Vehicle:
    2016 GMC Canyon SLT w/ LineX and....
    I honestly couldn't tell you why they switched....

If I had to guess - Timing belts are quieter and they don't stretch as much. Chains can stretch and get sloppy/noisy. When they stretch - that causes more wear and tear on the sprockets they ride on (machine term).

I'm sure other people will add to this.

3. Jul 16, 2008 at 5:27 AM
    lakewoodbilly

lakewoodbilly Well-Known Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Bill
    Lakewood, CO
    Vehicle:
    White 08 DC V6 SR5 4WD TRD Sport