1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Add a Fuse/Circuit

Discussion in 'Technical Chat' started by JWCWV, Mar 28, 2011.

1. Mar 28, 2011 at 5:25 PM
    JWCWV

JWCWV [OP] Well-Known Member

Member:
    Morgantown, WV
    Vehicle:
    08 Tacoma Double Cab
    Ok, first off I am a novice when it comes to electrical mods. This weekend I installed a Pioneer 3200BT complete with bypass switch and steering wheel controls. This was the main part of my project but I would also like to hardwire my GPS and Radar Detector in order to clean up the inside of my truck. I have aftermarket hardwire kits for each, but I am a little unsure about safe power sources. I have researched the Add a Fuse (fuse tap) a little which seems to be the easiest and most efficient route to go. I have a few of questions though.

1. Can I wire both kits to a single fuse tap? Or, will this cause an overload?
    2. If not, is it advisable to use 2 separate fuse taps on the same fuse box?
    3. If so, what size fuse would one recommend?

Thanks for any information, and feel free to provide as much detail on the pros/cons of these as you like!

2. Mar 28, 2011 at 5:38 PM
    Rocketball

Rocketball If The World Didn't Suck, We'd All Fall Off

Member:
    First Name:
    Scott
    Westminster, MD
    Vehicle:
    08 Speedway Blue DC Sport 4x4