Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Technical Chat

Notices

Add a Fuse/Circuit

Referenced Products Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-28-2011, 06:25 PM   #1
JWCWV is on a distinguished road
JWCWV's Tacoma Gallery
Add a Fuse/Circuit

Ok, first off I am a novice when it comes to electrical mods. This weekend I installed a Pioneer 3200BT complete with bypass switch and steering wheel controls. This was the main part of my project but I would also like to hardwire my GPS and Radar Detector in order to clean up the inside of my truck. I have aftermarket hardwire kits for each, but I am a little unsure about safe power sources. I have researched the Add a Fuse (fuse tap) a little which seems to be the easiest and most efficient route to go. I have a few of questions though.

1. Can I wire both kits to a single fuse tap? Or, will this cause an overload?
2. If not, is it advisable to use 2 separate fuse taps on the same fuse box?
3. If so, what size fuse would one recommend?

Thanks for any information, and feel free to provide as much detail on the pros/cons of these as you like!
Old 03-28-2011, 06:38 PM   #2
If The World Didn't Suck, We'd All Fall Off
Rocketball is one of the sharper tools in the shedRocketball is one of the sharper tools in the shedRocketball is one of the sharper tools in the shedRocketball is one of the sharper tools in the shedRocketball is one of the sharper tools in the shedRocketball is one of the sharper tools in the shedRocketball is one of the sharper tools in the shedRocketball is one of the sharper tools in the shedRocketball is one of the sharper tools in the shedRocketball is one of the sharper tools in the shedRocketball is one of the sharper tools in the shed

Name: Scott
Rocketball's Tacoma Gallery
1. I'm not a wiring expert, but I would not do this myself.