1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

how do i replace a rear differential pinion seal

Discussion in 'Technical Chat' started by dirty TaTer, Jun 9, 2011.

1. Jun 9, 2011 at 10:09 AM
    dirty TaTer

dirty TaTer [OP] Ruts are the enemy

Member:
    First Name:
    Kevin
    Pasco Florida
    Vehicle:
    96 2.7 3rz taco
    Doorman OEM rear leaf packs, dynomax thrush glasspack, and cool milk crates in the back B)
    I've never done this before but I dont think it should be that hard.
    I changed the gear oil a little more than a month ago and i wash the underside of the truck everytime it goes off road. i noticed the oil on the drive this morning and want to fix it ASAP. how long do you think this could take? I start a new job tomorrow and will be driving almost 70 miles per day.

2. Jun 9, 2011 at 10:25 AM
    jberry813

jberry813 Professional Fluffer Moderator

Member:
    First Name:
    Jason
    Lake Tahoe
    Vehicle:
    2012 DCSB Sport
    ...too much shit to list.
  3. Jun 10, 2011 at 9:24 AM
    dirty TaTer

Member:
    First Name:
    Kevin
    Pasco Florida
    Vehicle:
    96 2.7 3rz taco
    Doorman OEM rear leaf packs, dynomax thrush glasspack, and cool milk crates in the back B)
    Do you think Advanced would have an SST tool for me to borrow?
    What is an SST tool exactly?
    Is there any thing i can use as a substitute for an SST tool?

4. Jun 10, 2011 at 9:32 AM
    jberry813

jberry813 Professional Fluffer Moderator

Member:
    First Name:
    Jason
    Lake Tahoe
    Vehicle:
    2012 DCSB Sport
    ...too much shit to list.
    SST means Special Service Tool.