Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Technical Chat

Notices

disconnecting tpms???

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-04-2008, 08:27 PM   #1
dabighi [OP] dabighi is offline
Senior Member
dabighi has a little shameless behaviour in the past
Joined: Oct 2007, #2978
Posts: 170
dabighi's Tacoma Gallery
disconnecting tpms???

anyone know how i can disconnect the tpms. im getting my wheels and tires installed this weekend and i honestly dont think i need to have it switched over. it costs 68 for all four to be installed without the tpms and 170 with the tpms. plus another 100 or so for the alignment. damn 4wheel parts so friggin expensive.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2008, 08:43 PM   #2
Piss off
jhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
jhodge83's Avatar
Air Force: former TSgt/E6, 3D172, Cyber Transport, NC Air Guard and prior AD
Name: Jamie
Joined: Apr 2007, #1432
Location: Moncks Corner, SC
Age: 31
Gender: Guy
Posts: 25,666
jhodge83's Tacoma Gallery
put the 5 tpms sensors in a pressurized pipe to whatever the stock pressure is and leave that pipe behind a seat or in storage...no light and ur still able to use the sensors if u want to
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2008, 08:47 PM   #3
dabighi [OP] dabighi is offline
Senior Member
dabighi has a little shameless behaviour in the past
Joined: Oct 2007, #2978
Posts: 170
dabighi's Tacoma Gallery
sounds like it might work.anyone done it? thinking maybe just a 3" diameter by 6-8"long pvc with some sealed end caps and a valve of some sort to pressurize? or is that too macguyver and not gonna work?
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2008, 08:52 PM   #4
Piss off
jhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
jhodge83's Avatar
Air Force: former TSgt/E6, 3D172, Cyber Transport, NC Air Guard and prior AD
Name: Jamie
Joined: Apr 2007, #1432
Location: Moncks Corner, SC
Age: 31
Gender: Guy
Posts: 25,666
jhodge83's Tacoma Gallery
i think thats pretty much what most have done...pvc pipe, end caps, and some sort of valve to connect to a compressor
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2008, 10:26 PM   #5
dabighi [OP] dabighi is offline
Senior Member
dabighi has a little shameless behaviour in the past
Joined: Oct 2007, #2978
Posts: 170
dabighi's Tacoma Gallery
sweet. any recommendations on what type of valve i can use. kinda havin a brain freeze moment
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2008, 10:28 PM   #6
Piss off
jhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
jhodge83's Avatar
Air Force: former TSgt/E6, 3D172, Cyber Transport, NC Air Guard and prior AD
Name: Jamie
Joined: Apr 2007, #1432
Location: Moncks Corner, SC
Age: 31
Gender: Guy
Posts: 25,666
jhodge83's Tacoma Gallery
u can prolly find like a half inch threaded valve to put into the pipe somewhere....maybe find a cap that has that same threading in it
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2008, 11:41 PM   #7
Member
SmootDog will become famous soon enoughSmootDog will become famous soon enough
 
SmootDog's Avatar
Joined: Nov 2008, #10431
Location: Oklahoma
Age: 48
Gender: Male
Posts: 37
SmootDog's Tacoma Gallery
Drill a hole in one of the caps and pull a valve stem into it.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2008, 06:24 AM   #8
Senior Member
linkfeeney has much to be proud oflinkfeeney has much to be proud oflinkfeeney has much to be proud oflinkfeeney has much to be proud oflinkfeeney has much to be proud oflinkfeeney has much to be proud oflinkfeeney has much to be proud oflinkfeeney has much to be proud oflinkfeeney has much to be proud of
 
linkfeeney's Avatar
Name: link the stink!
Joined: Dec 2006, #393
Location: aberdeen, nj
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,533
linkfeeney's Tacoma Gallery
i like the tpms, it lets me know when i need to fill air... perfecto!!
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2008, 08:14 AM   #9
Junior Member
lsarg27 is on a distinguished road
 
lsarg27's Avatar
Joined: Nov 2008, #10896
Location: Cape Cod.
Gender: Male
Posts: 20
lsarg27's Tacoma Gallery
Question Another Idea

How about getting some of those Heavy duty long zip ties and strapping the monitor to the inside of the rim before mounting the tire. That way you would still have a working TPMS without having to buy new monitors that fit the new rims.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2008, 01:08 PM   #10
Mr Thundermaker is about to start barking fire!
RCBS is one of the sharper tools in the shedRCBS is one of the sharper tools in the shedRCBS is one of the sharper tools in the shedRCBS is one of the sharper tools in the shedRCBS is one of the sharper tools in the shedRCBS is one of the sharper tools in the shedRCBS is one of the sharper tools in the shedRCBS is one of the sharper tools in the shedRCBS is one of the sharper tools in the shedRCBS is one of the sharper tools in the shedRCBS is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
RCBS's Avatar
Joined: Apr 2008, #5845
Location: Appalachia
Age: 37
Gender: Dude
Posts: 2,361
RCBS's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by linkfeeney View Post
i like the tpms, it lets me know when i need to fill air... perfecto!!
unless you ever change your rims. the sensors are about $115 ea when they go bad or the battery in them dies.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2008, 01:18 PM   #11
Senior Member
bcmedic will become famous soon enoughbcmedic will become famous soon enough
Joined: Sep 2008, #8983
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada
Posts: 135
bcmedic's Tacoma Gallery
i went n bought a really small tire/rim from home depot, a wheel barrow wheel. dropped all 4 into it and pressured it.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2008, 01:19 PM   #12
Look at my member
crawfishsoul is a jewel in the roughcrawfishsoul is a jewel in the roughcrawfishsoul is a jewel in the rough
 
crawfishsoul's Avatar
Joined: Dec 2008, #11186
Gender: Male
Posts: 76
crawfishsoul's Tacoma Gallery
Instead of the whole pipe thing, why not just take them out and go through the TPMS reset steps as if they are in the tires?

I read this from 007Tacoma:
Quote:
When you set the system (holding the SET button) it takes whatever the current pressure reading are as the new normal.
So wouldn't resetting the TPMS while the sensors are sitting in a plastic baggy in your glove compartment do the same as sticking them in something that looks like a pipe bomb in the back of your truck?
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2008, 03:28 PM   #13
Senior Member
bcmedic will become famous soon enoughbcmedic will become famous soon enough
Joined: Sep 2008, #8983
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada
Posts: 135
bcmedic's Tacoma Gallery
^ clever idea...has anyone actually tried it? i personally would like to get ride of my wagon wheel in my truck. reset it at ambient air pressure....hmmm
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2008, 03:33 PM   #14
Look at my member
crawfishsoul is a jewel in the roughcrawfishsoul is a jewel in the roughcrawfishsoul is a jewel in the rough
 
crawfishsoul's Avatar
Joined: Dec 2008, #11186
Gender: Male
Posts: 76
crawfishsoul's Tacoma Gallery
I'm also wondering if the truck cares of the sensors aren't near the rig. If it can't "see" the sensors then it can't report back low pressure can it?

Maybe if it doesn't sense the monitors nearby it sets off an alarm telling you your wheels have been stolen?
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2008, 03:55 PM   #15
clowns to the left-jokers to the right
hoosiertaco is one of the sharper tools in the shedhoosiertaco is one of the sharper tools in the shedhoosiertaco is one of the sharper tools in the shedhoosiertaco is one of the sharper tools in the shedhoosiertaco is one of the sharper tools in the shedhoosiertaco is one of the sharper tools in the shedhoosiertaco is one of the sharper tools in the shedhoosiertaco is one of the sharper tools in the shedhoosiertaco is one of the sharper tools in the shedhoosiertaco is one of the sharper tools in the shedhoosiertaco is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Name: Ben
Joined: Sep 2008, #9084
Location: SouthCentral Indiana
Age: 44
Gender: Dude
Posts: 4,945
hoosiertaco's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by crawfishsoul View Post
I'm also wondering if the truck cares of the sensors aren't near the rig. If it can't "see" the sensors then it can't report back low pressure can it?

Maybe if it doesn't sense the monitors nearby it sets off an alarm telling you your wheels have been stolen?

The truck is in constant communication with the sensors. Therefore if they aren't close to the vehicle then the light will come on.

One member even had the wheels in the garage by the truck and every night the sensors and truck got together and said hey, lets shut this light off. Then, when he started the truck at work away from the sensors they had seperation anxiety and flipped the light back on.

As far as setting them alone without pressure, I'm not sure. You would probably have to remove the one in the spare and reset it as well. Can't remember seeing anyone do this. Maybe it can be done..........

Remember, you will have to pay the dealer to do it....
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
disconnecting middle seatbelt on bench seat JBeasty 2nd Gen. Tacomas 21 10-22-2013 10:54 AM
Auto Disconnecting Diff (ADD) question??? NAVY_TRIPP 1st Gen. Tacomas 8 11-17-2011 10:37 AM
Im dumb lol clunk after disconnecting the battery? Hunter500ky 2nd Gen. Builds 3 12-14-2010 04:18 PM
truck idle weird after disconnecting battery jayyyg84 Technical Chat 4 06-24-2010 07:53 AM
Is disconnecting the battery necessary jmasterj Audio & Video 7 12-15-2008 06:54 PM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.