Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Technical Chat

Notices

Start-ability Malfunction 2012 Tacoma

Old 02-27-2012, 03:40 PM   #1
MGMAddict is on a distinguished road
Name: Matt
MGMAddict's Tacoma Gallery
Start-ability Malfunction 2012 Tacoma

Hey guys just figured id ask on here to see if anyone is having starting issues with the new Tacoma's. I got the truck in the beginning of Jan and its probably done it about 15 times since.After extended sit periods ill go out to my truck and it will just crank and crack and not fire. Turn it over a second time and it starts right up. Im a technician for Lexus so I hooked up the tech stream and I found a P1604 code stored as a current code.Looked up the code on TAS and there are a ton of trouble areas to check. Glanced over the freeze frame data and nothing seemed out of the ordinary. Id like to fix it myself and not have our toyota store throw parts at it, i just didn't have much time to check it out today.
Old 02-27-2012, 03:43 PM   #2
Khaos is one of the sharper tools in the shedKhaos is one of the sharper tools in the shedKhaos is one of the sharper tools in the shedKhaos is one of the sharper tools in the shedKhaos is one of the sharper tools in the shedKhaos is one of the sharper tools in the shedKhaos is one of the sharper tools in the shedKhaos is one of the sharper tools in the shedKhaos is one of the sharper tools in the shedKhaos is one of the sharper tools in the shedKhaos is one of the sharper tools in the shed

Name: Bryant
Khaos's Tacoma Gallery
My '05 does this on occasion.

What I've been doing lately is turning the key to on, without starting, while I organize my phone and wallet and put the safety belt on, then starting the truck, that way the fuel pump has time to get going. Seems to be working.
Old 02-27-2012, 03:50 PM   #3
Got R Did