Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Technical Chat

Notices

Can I disable the ADD?

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-17-2012, 06:54 PM   #1
lhedrick [OP] lhedrick is offline
Junior Member
lhedrick is on a distinguished road
Name: Larry
Joined: Jan 2012, #71594
Location: Utah
Gender: Male
Posts: 17
lhedrick's Tacoma Gallery
Can I disable the ADD?

Close to the time to retire my 18 year old T100.

My 5 speed manual T100 had a vacuum actuated ADD. Would not disengage when cold. Some times it would not engage. It never worked properly until I removed it. Installed ASISN hubs from an old 4Runner, then removed the vacuum system and permanently shifted in the front differential with a mechanical modification. It's now a totally manual system and it works every time. I can also use low range in rear wheal drive only in tight spots like backing a boat down a long narrow ramp without it binding up. All I have to do is unlock the front hubs and then shift the transfer case.

No full size trucks available with a manual transmission. NONE! I am hoping for the 6 speed manual in the Tundra but it doesn't look good. All the big new automatic transmissions are too heavy, expensive and inefficient with all the locking and unlocking of the torque converters.

So,

the Tacoma has the 6 speed manual with the ADD. Does any technical person know if free hubs can be put on the thing and the ADD disabled like I did with the T100. At least I and hubs so I can use 4WD low without the front differential locked to the wheels.

Manual is always better.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 06:57 PM   #2
The Mad Scientist
jberry813 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjberry813 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjberry813 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjberry813 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjberry813 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjberry813 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjberry813 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjberry813 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjberry813 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjberry813 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjberry813 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
jberry813's Avatar
Name: Jason
Joined: Jan 2011, #49636
Location: Lake Tahoe
Age: 33
Gender: Guy
Posts: 12,408
jberry813's Tacoma Gallery
Presumably since you mentioned 6 speed, you are referring to the second gens. The second gens never came with manual locking hubs and as such, AFAIK there is no manual hub conversions for the second gens.

Short of custom fab work, no...there's no way to go manual on a second gen.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 08:19 PM   #3
lhedrick [OP] lhedrick is offline
Junior Member
lhedrick is on a distinguished road
Name: Larry
Joined: Jan 2012, #71594
Location: Utah
Gender: Male
Posts: 17
lhedrick's Tacoma Gallery
On my T100 I removed a splined cap which locked the wheel to the axel shaft, then just bolted on the free hubs.

Some how I would think the wheel on the new ones would be lock the front rotor to the shaft in the same way. I wonder if that is still the same. Doesn't seem like something which would have needed changing. It might be possible that the AISIN hubs might bolt on the new trucks.

I doubt the dealer will let me take off a wheel to check and I know for sure the service department won't tell me anything.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 08:43 PM   #4
The Mad Scientist
jberry813 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjberry813 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjberry813 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjberry813 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjberry813 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjberry813 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjberry813 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjberry813 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjberry813 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjberry813 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjberry813 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
jberry813's Avatar
Name: Jason
Joined: Jan 2011, #49636
Location: Lake Tahoe
Age: 33
Gender: Guy
Posts: 12,408
jberry813's Tacoma Gallery
You were able to do it on the T100 because the T100/Tundra share the same CV outer and spindle as the 1st gen taco. Pre 2000 tacos (and some 3rd gen 4runners) had the option for manual hubs which is how you were able to use the AISIN hubs.

I'm fairly confident you won't be able to use the same hubs, or someone would have already done it.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to disable TPMS? Midnight Drifter 5 Lug 19 11-08-2014 02:09 PM
How do you disable the DRL's? Sheepdog 1st Gen. Tacomas 6 01-17-2013 11:11 PM
how to disable camera? cindy 2nd Gen. Tacomas 21 02-10-2010 10:44 AM
Disable the remote disable feature? Crusher 2 Technical Chat 1 01-11-2010 12:50 PM
Are there any instructions with pictures on how to add “Add a leaf” ap53 Suspension 2 09-21-2008 09:41 PM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.