1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

diff swap on first gen, need help.

Discussion in 'Technical Chat' started by stitch, Apr 2, 2013.

1. Apr 2, 2013 at 10:34 PM
    stitch

stitch [OP] PreRunner

Member:
    First Name:
    Erick
    Georgia
    Vehicle:
    04 prerunner sr5 v6 double cab
    none yet
    hi, im not very good with starting these threads so i apologize if its not grammatically correct. For some reason when i bought my pre-runner, i thought that i had a LSD. Boy was i mistaken when a friend and i got stuck in a flat soft dirt parking lot on a military installation. After the embarrassment of saying that "my LSD will kick in" and it never did i decided to do some research. Apparently the pre-runners do not have a LSD if its not a TRD edition, my bad, i found that it had a open diff. To avoid any further embarrassing endeavors i would like to swap my open diff with a TRD LSD. Now I do not know if that is possible and if it is, would i have to fab stuff. If that is not possible, i will install a locker. i would rather have the LSD cause it will increase handling in all weather. If any body had any insight on a diff swap or a locker please let me know. Any info is welcome no matter how small. thank you every body.

2. Apr 6, 2013 at 8:16 AM
    tan4x4

tan4x4 Well-Known Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Rick
    Folsom, CA
    Vehicle:
    99 Tacoma EC 4x4 2.7L Auto
    Bilsteins, OME 881's, 3-leaf AAL, Detroit TruTrac, Tundra brake swap, Michelin LTX AT2, Tranny skidplate, TC skidplate, CBI rear bumper, TG sliders, UltraGauge, PowerTank, Reverse Camera